Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Everything was gr8!😘 Loved the room. The stay was a memorable one, always give good service and I will always use this hotel when in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good if you are in Gateway for business

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Proximity to my work
Cons: For the rate which I paid I can get excellent hotels with great amenities and service in Johannesburg. And rooms with much better views
Location: There are plenty of average restaurants around and a big mall. Nothing fancy though
This is an acceptable hotel if you are in Gateway for a short business trip (2-3 days). It's just rooms and a small space downstairs that serves as a bar and a restaurant. There are no other amenities here - at least none that were pointed out. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. You don't get rooms with a sea-view - maybe a higher rate may have ensured sea-view but it is an expensive hotel to begin with and I guess with Expedia one doesn't get the best rooms. The Wifi is acceptable. But there are no other frills. No robe, no slippers, no turndown service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Excellent hotel but noisy if you have a room next to road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good but some improvements needed

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable.
Cons: See above. A serious review of the breakfast costs!
Location: See above.
The room was great and the staff we dealt with were mostly friendly. The check-in was not great, insufficient people on the desks and the room was not ready until 3pm. Which negatively affected our plans significantly. The cost of breakfast is nothing short of daylight robbery. You can get a very hearty breakfast at various well known restaurants across the road in the shopping centre for less than a third of the cost charged by the hotel, so you have to wonder why anyone would eat at the hotel. The location can be a bit noisy at night given the proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre, but generally it quietens down after about midnight. The rooftop pool is quite small and really only good for a minor dip to cool off. I probably would stay at this hotel again, but I definitely would not be eating breakfast here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice Hotel close to Gateway Mall

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: Quiet, convenient to mall
Cons: Breakfast buffet was adequate but could use some variety
Location: Very close to Gateway Mall
This is a very safe, pleasant hotel close to the sprawling Gateway shopping mall which has stores of all types and many different restaurants ( I ate at the Cape Town Fish Market which is quite nice). On arrival I was upgraded to a family room ( I am an Accor member) which was very large and included a separate small room for children. The location for the hotel is optimal if you want to be removed from the bustle of Umhlanga Rocks but close to the mall. To get to Umhlanga Rocks will require a 5-7 minute taxi ride. For those interested in the gym, it is quite small with a very limited range of equipment but functional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

NICE HOTEL CLOSE TO MALL

Posted Dec 31, 2014
VERY GOOD SERVICE ..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay..

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Great hotel for families. Our room had 2 bedrooms, a great bath and shower. It was large, comfortable, clean. Our daughters enjoyed having their own room. Hotel is right next to a very large mall which was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torquay, United Kingdom

Very Dissappointing

Posted Jan 3, 2011
I was hoping to entertain my extended South African family to a party after Christmas during my stay but the restaurant was so dissappointing in decor, situation, ambiance, menu sophistication etc that after consulting with the food and beverage manager, I decided to hold it elsewhere. The restaurant was not much more than what I would describe as a coffee shop open to the reception check-in area and all the lifts. With coachloads of customers arriving with luggage checking in and using the lifts only feet away from dining to a very low key menu was not my idea of a new 4 star establishment. The accommodation was exactly as described and quite acceptable. The expendable items, shampoos, soaps, biscuits, tea, coffee and bottled watrer were not replaced on a daily basis when servicing was done. The leisure facilities were two rather dirty dipping pools on the 7th floor with very limited appeal. For a newly built hotel in this up-market position, I was bitterly dissappointed.