Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but the rest?

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Half of the hotel is on the road side and extremely noisy. I didn't manage to sleep the first days until I change the room. The laundry service is crap. They returned my clothes not ironed properly at all. Was not able to wear them!
2 out of 5
by Ebrahim from RSA

2star hotel at best, needs serious attention.

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
No mini fridge in the room. Lighting is non existent! Very poor Aircon system Very poor breakfast options, nothing halaal at all.
3 out of 5
by Alex from Kyalami Johannesburg

Very noisy and below standard hotel.

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed a few times at this Protea however this time we did not enjoy the stay. When we got to the hotel the room was not ready. When we eventualy got to the room the ligts did not work in the smaller room. In the evening we could not sleep because of the noise in the street. People were spinning tires, revving their cars and playing loud music. It was terrible. The next evening the same thing happened. The cleanliness of the room was not ok either because we found dead spiders in our bed. It seem like the bedding was not dusted before it was made. We always stay at Protea when we travel and on this occasion the hotel did not live up to our standards even though it is in the upmarket area of Umhlanga.
4 out of 5
by Julien

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
It was a good stay, especially for the rate.
5 out of 5
by AJ

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Marcel

Great location in Durban

Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel provided a great location and close to restaurants and shopping mall. Clean and very professional, will use again for business and holiday travel.
2 out of 5
by Abdul Haque from Johannesburg

Uncomfortable stay at Protea Hotel Umhl Ridge

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
The big king sized bed was very uncomfortable as it was sunken in the centre. Could NOT sleep properly for 2 nights. Eish!
5 out of 5
by Thembakazi from Johannesburg

Relaxed getaway

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
The room was super. we felt like we were at home. Staff was friendly. I wouldn't mind to book there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels