Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, UK

Lovely hotel close to Pietermaritzburg.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Amazing staff, very welcoming. The hotel was very clean and tidy and the staff were also very helpful and polite. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The hotel was situated in a lovely area with plenty to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Melinda, Hotel Management
Dear Graham, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Hilton through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a VALUED GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon! Sincerely, MELINDA NAKEDI Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
1 out of 5
by Chandru

Sleepless in Hilton (Protea)

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
The music from their bar area didn't stop until after midnight making it very difficult to get to sleep. Was then woken early in the morning (6am) by the most hideous shrieking sound emanating from their water pipes. Another room had activated their shower which created this hideous noise. Was the most uncomfortable night I have spent at any establishment in many years.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

No elevator and funny smell

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Orbitz
I was placed on an upper floor with tons of luggage and no elevator. Not a big deal if you where warned ahead of time. The hotel has an old musky smell. Staff was nice and rooms were clean and spacious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, comfortable and clean rooms.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: rooms are clean and comfortable
Cons: the food at the restaurant during dinner was terrible, and the steak we had was un-edible and we returned it.
Location: great coffee shop across from the hotel called Ground coffee, and a door thai restaurant called taste of thai nearby.
Good hotel, comfortable and clean rooms. Food at the restaurant for dinner was terrible. Your best option would be to go to restaurant near by in Hilton, just a few minutes away. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by raymond

Great value for money

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very good and highly recommended especially breakfast
4 out of 5
by Yolande

Poor service by Hotels.com

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Hotels.com cancelled our booking incorrectly. Protea Hotel manager tried her best to make up for the inconvenience caused. We only enquired about availability elsewhere. The foreigner who we spoke to clearly couldn't follow simple instructions. We were disappointed with Hotels.com!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel in the heights of Hilton

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Picturesque location. Very helpful, considerate, friendly staff, room super comfortable, food excellent, fresh and varied to suit all tastes, spotless
Cons: We were too early in the season for the swimming pool, and the tennis court was likewise unprepared - net needs fixing!
Location: Hilton is a quiet area, we could hear the distant rumble of the motorway, but otherwise it was lovely. Botanical gardens nearby, shops in Liberty Mall
Really enjoyed our stay at the Protea. Spacious stylish quiet hotel allowed for decent rest, with very good food and friendly helpful staff. We could hear the distant rumble of the motorway if we listened, but it was not enough to disturb us. Beautiful entrance lobby with huge fire blazing where we could meet up with friends, a lovely bar for relaxing and great dining room. Spacious room overlooking gardens and adjacent properties, recently refurbished so very comfortable with spacious bathroom. Mostly business travellers during the week with families also at the weekend. Food excellent; buffet varied and changed every day, a la carte excellent - also good wine list promoting all South African products. So refreshing to get away from bland international hotel ambience and enjoy their characterful hospitality. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Zama, Hotel Management
Good Day, It was so heartwarming for our TEAM to come across a review like this, especially on a Monday morning. We make such efforts to ensure that ALL our guests are happy and that our service is up to standard. So reviews like the one you have just given us really motivate us to continue serving in excellence. We hope that you travelled home safe and will visit us again real soon. Have a lovely day Zama Nxele Guest Liaison Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton zamanguni.nxele@proteahotels.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Velogan from Johannesburg

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
No very impressed as rate did not include breakfast..
5 out of 5
by Pieter from Pretoria, South Africa

Lovely Hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
I love this hotel! Have stayed here before and will stay there again!