Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Martha from Alexandra JHB

Memorable

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic stay had most memorable birthday surprise prepared by the hotel management/staff Sonwabile and Jean you ladies are wonderful.... thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sketchy hotel, but with great sea views

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
When I checked in the clerk tried to get me to pay more for a sea view, when my reservation clearly stated "partial sea view" as a minimum. Good thing I had a printed copy of the reservation. We got our sea view but the clerk was rude, too. The restaurant food (menu) is good and a good value. But the kitchen is incredibly slow....30 minutes to get a wrap and salad. The service at the morning buffet is dismal. The hotel gave us key that stopped working on purpose after 18 hours. They said this was for security...but they should tell you if you need to get a new key each day. The furnishings in the room were somewhat dirty. And all potential visitors should know that this hotel is on the edge of the red light district and each the beachfront walk is not safe after dark. You can tell that the hotel was once very nice, but it is not even 3 stars now.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ビーチ沿いのクラッシックホテル

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: ビーチ沿いにあり、客室から海が一望できます。
Location: ウシャカマリーンワールドまで、徒歩10分でいけます。
建物の設備などが、古い感じですが、セーフティボックスの修理やメイドなどのスタッフの対応は、親切でした。ただし、ここのコンシェルジェで進められるシティツァーは、割高ですので、ネットなどで対応が良く、リーズナブルなものがお勧めです。
3 out of 5
by Robert from Centurion

Five days at the Edward

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
The Edward has an unique old world atmosphere, attentive and friendly service, and breakfast on the verandah used to be a special attraction. It still is, but it is not as practicable as it used to be. I'd like to suggest that when staff are asked why the hotel is called 'the Edward', they should be able to recount some of the relevant history. None seemed to know if Edward, Prince of Wales, stayed there.
5 out of 5
by Sipho

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Generally comfortable, kind staff
3 out of 5
by Peter from Kent UK

Ability to be so much better

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Old run down building. Staff were poor upon checkin. Had a letter delivered the day of arrival which they lost !!! Only to find it a couple of hours later. Room safe had incorrect instructions,so didn't open. Durban is great, but go elsewhere plenty of choice
2 out of 5
by Bernhard from Salzburg

Defekte Klimaanlagen

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 Defekte Klimaanlagen mit Zimmerwechsel. Das dritte war dann ok, aber der ganze Nachmittag war kaputt (Valentinstag)
4 out of 5
by ANDRIES from Johannesburg

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watch the passersby.
3 out of 5
by suraya from Pietermaritzburg

average

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
This is my personal opinion. we got to the hotel at 2pm and the room was not ready. a few minutes wait was not a problem. there was a terrible smell in the bathroom. We asked the cleaner to please clean it again and we even offered her something extra. was never resolved. We possibly wasted more perfume in the bathroom than we would have used on ourself in two weeks. When we booked this stay it never mentioned anything about breakfast been an extra. On arrival we asked the receptionist and her comment was that we only sell rooms and breakfast is extra, so I asked her where does is say that the stay is hotel only and her bold and bland response was can you get hold of the website you booked through.It was a wonderful way to start a holiday. to be honest , would not stay there again.