Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ビーチ沿いのクラッシックホテル

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: ビーチ沿いにあり、客室から海が一望できます。
Location: ウシャカマリーンワールドまで、徒歩10分でいけます。
建物の設備などが、古い感じですが、セーフティボックスの修理やメイドなどのスタッフの対応は、親切でした。ただし、ここのコンシェルジェで進められるシティツァーは、割高ですので、ネットなどで対応が良く、リーズナブルなものがお勧めです。
3 out of 5
by Robert from Centurion

Five days at the Edward

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
The Edward has an unique old world atmosphere, attentive and friendly service, and breakfast on the verandah used to be a special attraction. It still is, but it is not as practicable as it used to be. I'd like to suggest that when staff are asked why the hotel is called 'the Edward', they should be able to recount some of the relevant history. None seemed to know if Edward, Prince of Wales, stayed there.
5 out of 5
by Sipho

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Generally comfortable, kind staff
3 out of 5
by Peter from Kent UK

Ability to be so much better

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Old run down building. Staff were poor upon checkin. Had a letter delivered the day of arrival which they lost !!! Only to find it a couple of hours later. Room safe had incorrect instructions,so didn't open. Durban is great, but go elsewhere plenty of choice
2 out of 5
by Bernhard from Salzburg

Defekte Klimaanlagen

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 Defekte Klimaanlagen mit Zimmerwechsel. Das dritte war dann ok, aber der ganze Nachmittag war kaputt (Valentinstag)
4 out of 5
by ANDRIES from Johannesburg

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watch the passersby.
3 out of 5
by suraya from Pietermaritzburg

average

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
This is my personal opinion. we got to the hotel at 2pm and the room was not ready. a few minutes wait was not a problem. there was a terrible smell in the bathroom. We asked the cleaner to please clean it again and we even offered her something extra. was never resolved. We possibly wasted more perfume in the bathroom than we would have used on ourself in two weeks. When we booked this stay it never mentioned anything about breakfast been an extra. On arrival we asked the receptionist and her comment was that we only sell rooms and breakfast is extra, so I asked her where does is say that the stay is hotel only and her bold and bland response was can you get hold of the website you booked through.It was a wonderful way to start a holiday. to be honest , would not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A two star masquerading as a four star

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
There were constant errors in service from the car not being delivered on time; at breakfast coffee and tea not served unless asked for. Similarly on room service the coffee and teas were never replaced until asked. Making the beds was a long and drawn out event. The beds would be stripped and made up hours later. In the bathroom there would be one toilet roll at any one time and we had to ask for a roll to be replaced.
4 out of 5
by Bilkis from Johannesburg

Nice break away

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
Overall very nice