Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Very central and walking distance to the cricket ground, but I didn't feel safe leaving the hotel after dark. I think the hotel has recently been renovated and the facilities are now really nice, but its reputation with locals doesn't seem to have caught up yet. There is nowhere nearby to eat in the evening, and no facilities to store your own food (e.g. fridge).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Located in the City close to Durban beaches

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: The proximity to the city centre and facilities
Cons: Rooms need refurbishment and ensure that gadgets work. The internet access was very poor and it was one the reasons I had chosen this hotel
Location: CBD is nearby and yes the famous beaches walking distance. Major routes out of Durban start from here as well
It is an old establishment, with many appliances having seen better days an in need of updating. The rooms are ok, but some gadgets don't work. I had to change rooms to get to one that had almost all things working. Access to their recommended parking is quite disconcerting at night. It's via an alleyway that is shadowy with some dodgy looking people hanging about. But during the day it's fine as the car park is used by the general public coming to work in the city. The staff go out of their way to help and are friendly. Housekeeping staff do all they can to keep the rooms tidy and clean, always smiling and cheerful. I had free internet access, but I only managed to use it a couple of times and then it only lasted a few minutes before things went offline. The hotel is central as well as being close to Durban beaches making it an ideal base for leisure (holiday) or business. Overall, let me just say, it did the job, provided me with a bed during my time in Durban.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good budget stay in the city center

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: Cafe at the 1st floor. Because I arrived late, I somehow got something to eat and drink, including meat pies.
Cons: Enhancement of menu and time at the 1st cafe, especially for those who check in late.
Location: Next to City Hall. At night, it may not be safe to walk around in the neighbourhood.
Clean room, good WiFi connection. The hotel staff was efficient. The hotel has a pool of taxis for the guests' needs. I was able to go to a good Japanese restaurant at an other hotel quicky and reasonably, escorted by the receptionist to the taxi rank.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Good staff
Cons: The breakfast and the bathroom. Improved the foundation of rooms because of the noise
A place very noisy. Impossible to stay in the room in calm ... Not enough choice for the breakfast. Bathroom needs renovation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Stephen

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Fairly enjoyed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by sandra from Winterton

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay with fantastic with the kids, they enjoyed their stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Francina from East Rand Ekurhuleni

Real holiday

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
It was very relaxing and fun. The kids enjoyed the area.The room was clean really appreciate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Busi from Midrand

poor service

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
the rooms are dirty plumbing neglected,basin and shower not draining water out. floor sticky
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nonhlanhla from Johannesburg

A well trained staff is a benefit to the hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
I really did enjoy my stay in this hotel just that i checked-in in the early hours of the morning and left very early too. What i liked about the staff is that at first the lady who was on duty on the very same night kept on checking whether i was still coming. When i got there the guy who was then on duty welcomed us very well and even helped us with the parking. The security guard also helped us with our bags to our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nabegh from Liverpool

Good stay at a Good Price

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
the staff were very helpful, the location was central to my needs and close to services and in a walking distance to the beach. Services and materials of coffee and tea making were more than enough. Maid who was cleaning the room was very professional. WiFi was available 24/7, but you need to login whenever you return to the premises. Enjoyable stay at the hotel with a good Price. it just a bit less to be awarded a **** mark. The city itself was friendly, but PLEASE Stay away from dark areas and keep away from gangs who will rob you. passer by will not interfere to help strangers being robbed!! Police was present nearby! but with no use to deter the criminals!.