Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location...not much else

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Damp smell in room,loud rowdy drunk guests allowed to disrupt fellow guests after 10pm, room telephone not working...no wifi on 9th floor...long wait for lifts
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
I did not feel very secure in the area . parking is away from the hotel. and this makes it an inconvenience if you have a lot of luggage. trying to get from ground floor to the room and vice versa was a mission with the lift. so small and slow. the red couch on one of the floors was blotchy and stained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good day Thank you for the review We will take all that was said into consideration We do have security and a porter to assist to and from parking as well as to the rooms We do apologise for any inconvience that you may have encountered We do hope to see you again Kind regards Albany Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

semi-clean hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We were made to wait in reception,not enough room in the rooms and our room phone was not working had to go up and down the elevator if we needed something and mind you we were in the 9th floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good day Thank you for the review We do apologise for any inconvience and the phone lines are being upgraded You should find all these rectified on your next visit Warm Regards Albany Hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GREAT STAFF....TERRIABLE HOTEL

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at this hotel were very friendly, responsive and accommodating; however, the hotel overall is NOT suitable for any traveler who enjoys and seeks out a clean and comfortable hotel free of dust, dirt, moldy smells, clean linens and a lot of questionable quest during late night hours. I was in Durban for a festival and when locals asked were I was staying and I told them The Albany a few people on different occasions jokingly said that was like staying at a brothel. Please DO NOT stay at this hotel if you are traveling and want a safe secure and relaxing stay. I wont be visiting again. The hotel staff were very pleasant though. So it was not all bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good day Thank you for the review We do apologise for any incovience We are in the process of upgarding all rooms to meet guest satisfaction We do hope you reconsider Kind regards Albany Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms but improve reception

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was good but 3rd floor foya dirty with litter of paper thrown from other floors. Parking arrangement bad. Hotel full then you on your own look for public parking at night. No compassion.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Not what I saw on the pictures. Room was too small. Bathroom was nothing like on the pictures and the area was too busy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

Comrades Marathon 2016

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Came to run Comrades Marathon and needed a budget hotel as I have other away races this year. The Albany offered everything I needed at the price point I had to work with. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room although small, was clean and had all I needed.