Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A once impressive hotel which has faded.

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The location in centre of Durban was great for us as we were there to watch cricket but there would be no other reason to stay here. Nothing else around, so we ate in hotel every night. The buffet dinner was very good and pleasant bar. Reception staff seemed to lack training as could not handle some fairly simple requests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by I B from Vereeeniging

The hotel stars should be degraded

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
My stay was a night mare e.g no parking guideline for the people who don't have a clue about the area. Which resulted me having and uncalled parking in no zone area and got a fine of R500,00. If Royal Hotel can upgrade their services e.g stuff, good housekeeping and parking assistance that will make a good time spent at the Royal Hotel
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
We had too many problems at The Royal.we had to be moved from one room to the other because toilet wasn't flushing or shower drain is blocked, no hot water. It was irritating.They came quickly when we called for help though.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mary from Durban

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
I dint like this Hotel at all.it s not the royal hotel we had in the 90s.even the reception staff were not professional...dressed like they were in their Granny's kitchen .No no no ....I will never use them agai
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patience

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nomboniso from Woodmead

Great Location

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Good location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vic

The Royal Feedback

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
The service at the front desk was pathetic, staff at the Royal do not know how to greet properly and leave you standing for how ever long it takes them to attend to you. It is only when the general manager gets involved that the ball starts rolling and the smiles come out. Furthermore, the shower head was broken in the room allocated to me and the air conditioning was not effective. Definitely will not be returning with my family or my business associates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Innocent

My not so pleasant stay

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
The view of the habour was great. There was an old tv and stained carpets. Two single beds put together to make a double. Poor service, they wanted me to pay twice and the receptionist wasn't friendly. Old fashion aircon was problematic and bathroom wasn't ventilated. I don't see how this hotel is 4star. Definitely won't go there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thokozani

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
The reception to the hotel and the condition of the room was perfect. I had a problem with the air conditioner. maintenance came to attend on it however it works for a while.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Muziwandile

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels