Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay at a Grand Damme of a Hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
There were a few bad reviews for the hotel so I approached with caution. And then pleasantly surprised. Beautiful room, foyer, mostly great staff and satisfactory food. The hotel is in the process of changing management which I got from the staff and clearly needs some 'upper management love'. But the bones are most certainly there, and some vivacious, welcoming, warm staff. Not all services are well directed so its a senior management thing. But I had a wonderful stay with some of the warmest, kindest, effervescent people. And the property itself is quite grand and historic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay at our hotel and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
4 out of 5
by Loretta

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service and friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed an overall pleasant stay at our hotel and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
2 out of 5
by John

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Guests are not allowed to use the telephone in your room to make any phone calls. I asked on numerous occassions was told it was against hotel policy. Every morning while leaving the hotel and waiting for a family member to pick me up, I felt very uneasy with all the vagrants asking for money. I suugest the hotel has a secirity person/door man to protect guests from the harassment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience during your stay as highlighted in your review, and that we were not able to create the experience that exceeds guest expectations which we are renowned for. Your comments are taken seriously and we have discussed your feedback with management and the relevant HOD’s. We trust that we will be able to offer you an improved and satisfactory stay during your next stay and that you will consider booking our hotel again for future visits.
2 out of 5
by cyril

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
not so good , the Beds are very old and my Back its painfully
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience during your stay as highlighted in your review, and that we were not able to create the experience that exceeds guest expectations which we are renowned for. Your comments are taken seriously and we have discussed your feedback with management and the relevant HOD’s. We trust that we will be able to offer you an improved and satisfactory stay during your next stay and that you will consider booking our hotel again for future visits.
3 out of 5
by melanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No concept and dirty

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hated it. Outdated. No towels. No hot water. Rude service. Broken furniture. No proper ventilation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice cheap central location`

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Better cook for breakfast
Old hotel, staff was very friendly, it has definitely seen better days but at this price I really can't complain at all. Breakfast included, adequate but could've been cooked better (all the meat was overcooked for the 2 mornings that I was there).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Overall ok, however the aircon in the room had no effect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels