Ratings based on 696 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Nice hotel with great access to Kyoto Station

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Very close proximity to Kyoto Station
Cons: The service in the restaurant definitely needs to be improved.
I picked this hotel due to it's great location with close proximity to Kyoto Station. That aspect did not disappoint. While small, the room was pleasant enough aside from the scaffolding outside the window due to building repairs. I was quite disappointed in the service in the restaurant. I went there twice. The first time I was given a menu and a warm towel and was never approached again and I ended up leaving and going for dinner somewhere else. The second time, I believe there was an event going on but was told I could sit on the patio, but again the service was terrible. I was served 2 beers and then never saw the waitress again. I just left some money on the table and I hope someone got it because I never even received a bill for my drinks. I would stay here again because of the location, but would definitely eat somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The whole experience was miserable. The bed was uncomfortable, staff was not helpful. I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Very conveniently located - heart of Kyoto

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Location is great!
Location: 5 min walk from Kyoto station (main hub for trains around Kansai & local buses). Isetan, BIC Camera, 7-11 are all across the hotel.
The hotel is very conveniently located, just 5 min walk from the Kyoto station. Check-in is smooth & straight-forward with staff speaking simple & understandable English. The hotel is slightly older-fashion on the inside, but the room that we had was nice, clean, & provides all the basic hotel amenities that we needed for our 2 nights stay. The Economy Double room that we had was actually quite compact/cramped with not much space to fit our 2 large luggage (just a direct walkway towards the double bed). If you're of larger built/size, you'll find this room fit for just 1 person & not 2 large persons. The bathroom was clean, but also rather small; not very much for comfort/bath tub soaking, but just to wash up & shower. We appreciate the area around the hotel as the 7-8 floors BIC Camera store & 7-11 convenience store is just across the road. We could get a great variety of affordable products & food from these 2 places. Even Isetan is located at the Kyoto station & there's much to walk, shop, see & eat around the area. The hotel is just 2 stations away from the popular Karasuma/Shijo area where the markets, Gion, & shrines are located. Kyoto station is also facing Kyoto Tower & it's a great bus terminal to get around to all the places of interests in Kyoto.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by APA Hotel , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel. If you visit Kyoto again,please come to our hotel. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by Reimer

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
good stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Thank you for staying our hotel. Our hotel is good access to Kyoto Station. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your post! APA Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, bad room.

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Standard Japanese room, small. Room was a bit on the dirty side. Shower had mold. Room walls had blue ink stains. Desk broken fridge enclosure was also broken. Power cutoff by old key fob to room caused fridge to never work. Staff seemed very helpful, but room was drab.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nobuko

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very near to Kyoto Station

Posted Apr 9, 2017
The hotel is within 5mins walk from Kyoto Station. The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and understand simple English. The room is very small for 2 people. Once you open your big luggage, there will be very little space to walk, and opening the toilet door and main room door becomes a problem. The pillows are too flat for comfort. I'm only recommending this hotel because it's very near to the station.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Kyoto station

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The hotel is just very dated and for what we paid a night (40,400 yen) there are much mich better hotels other place in Kyoto. The room was so small and the showers too that it was impossible for me and my boyfriend to even move around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, this hotel is great. Convenient location, staff was very nice and accommodating. Rooms are efficient. Minor criticisms would be: not the most comfortable mattresses and breakfast could use some more fresh fruit/ produce and variety.