Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Very good location.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Easily to get around the Kyoto attractions by bus. Located on the road with many shops. There is a Starbucks on the ground floor of the hotel and Lawson is round the corner. Stayed during the high tourist season and it was expensive especially the breakfast. It would be helpful if the hotel could give a direction to the first time guests how to get there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in Kyoto

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: I got a special price. THe room is very big double room. the location is convenient.
Cons: no. It is very good.
Location: Gion
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great location but with mediocre service

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Starbucks on the 1st floor, good view from the room, taxis are always waiting at the entrance, a large Lawson is just around the corner, and walking distance to souvenir shops and a dozen of beautiful temples.
Cons: The hotel still uses metal keys, so you need to leave it at the front desk when you go out, which is on the 2nd floor, or be extra careful not to lose it. The front desk refused to provide an extra quilt. The nearest subway station is 6 min away, so you kind of need to take a taxi with luggages.
Location: Shorenin Temple is a hidden gem! You can really experience zen without the crowds here. Kodai-ji has a great light show at night (post 6pm).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basically, they're holocaust deniers...seriously.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Cons: Well, you could stop trafficking in weird ultra-nationalist conspiracy theories that are basically racist and have no relationship to historical fact.
Our room and the hotel front desk contained ultra-right wing Japanese revisionist history books that downplay the Japanese army's brutality in WWII. These books (which were apparently written by the president of the APA hotel group...seriously) deny the brutality of the Nanking massacre and comfort women (aka forced sex slaves for the imperial army) in addition to indulging in a bunch of other weird conspiracy theories. Honestly, it was disgusting and I couldn't read more than a few pages before I had to put it down. I'm not looking to re-litigate WWII. Frankly, it happened a long time before I was born; and just about everyone I have met in Japan has been exceedingly polite. But these books were the Japanese equivalent of holocaust denialism. It was weird, and it made the stay at the hotel feel unpleasant. Had I known about this, I would not have stayed at the hotel. Honestly, I would have slept in a hammock under a bridge before giving APA even one more dollar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville NC

Really nice hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Proximity to 90% of everything to do in Kyoto
Cons: Size of the rooms....but they would have to move the walls and decrease room numbers which would be impossible in this market......
Location: Temples, gardens, shopping Dining was awesome...everything within walking distance....
By Japanese standards this hotel was nice and clean, efficient staff and right in the middle of everything you might want to do in Kyoto. It is a magical town and being within walking distance of 90% of the sights was very important.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location in historic district. That's a

Posted Mar 31, 2016
After reading some of the other reviews, I thought that maybe some of the reviewers were being whiny. That was not the case. They were all right on the money i.e. the heat only climate control, the what the heck am I supposed to do with this tiny pillow, the crazy soft jell-o bed, and the way out of this world price. The location for Kyoto is totally great, food, shopping, temples, shrines, bus stop right in front, and seeing geishas walking down the street, made up for it all. Pack as light as you can, there is simply no room for a large suitcase, but that's ok because there is so much to do in Kyoto, all you need is a bed and shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Room is only suitable for one person and the bed mattress really needs to be updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mililani, HI

Reasonably priced hotel in good location

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Location for sightseeing Nearby subway/train/bus lines Lots of nearby dining options Starbucks!
Cons: If you are planning to travel to Osaka, Himeji or other nearby areas, you may want to find a hotel closer to the main JR Kyoto Station.
Location: Lots of food/shopping within a few blocks of hotel. Close to Gion district sights and shrines. Transportation to other parts of Kyoto easy via bus.
Hotel is within easy walking distance of sights in the Gion district. It is within a few blocks of subway and train stations. There are also numerous Kyoto City Bus lines that run nearby. Ask for map at hotel front desk. Starbucks is on the first floor of the building and there are numerous Lawson's and Family Marts (convenience stores) within a few blocks. The rooms are small (but not unusually so for Japan) but nicely laid-out. Overall this is a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient part of town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

I have been gouged!

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Location is great
Cons: Not allowing the hotel to gouge Expedia customers.
Location: Great location. Stay somewhere else.
I was charged over $500 per day per room for two rooms for a hotel that is at best worth $100. We were there for New Year so I understand that the prices are higher, but that much??? I could not tell from the description in Expedia or the photos that the rooms had no space for luggage, that the breakfast would be served in the basement, that the concierges spoke basically no English and were for the most part incompetent. They could not help us with train schedules, tours or taxis. In short, we were taken by either the hotel or Expedia! A company like Expedia has some responsibility to protect its customers from scams. Charging us the same price as a five star hotel for a miserable motel of poor quality is a very very bad business practice. I thought I was protected from this type of gouging but obviously I was wrong. Never again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, cramped quarters

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Get rid of cigarette smell or have it non-smoking.
Location: shrine, Goin, and lots of places to eat nearby.
We had a twin room and the space was so tight in the room you couldn't walk around the bed and had to crawl over it to get to the other side. The room was clean but the floor smells terribly of cigarettes. The location in front of the shrine and near the Gion made it attractive and OK for last minute travel plans. Over priced all things considered and would stay elsewhere with more prior planning time.