Ratings based on 816 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Torture bed

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Fairly close to station but other APA hotel was closer
Cons: Get better beds and pillows. Improve flow at breakfast.
Location: Kyoto can be used as a base and catch trains to Nara, Kobe etc. So many sights around. Travel up station escalators to the roof top for great views.
First went to wrong APA hotel which was closer to station (should have stayed there). Rooms were very small and bed was rock hard. The space for breakfast was too small for such a large number of guests. Breakfast was ok but often ran out of items and had to wait for them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small but nice rooms in a good location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The room was dark and quiet at night with some of the best blackout curtains I have ever seen in a hotel. The bed was comfy.
Cons: The WiFi was terrible. The internet would have been unusable if not for the Ethernet port. The service at breakfast was mixed, some days no crockery.
Location: The hotel is near the station and the bus statin so it is easy to get to all the tourist areas. There's not so much easily walkable from the hotel tho
I stayed here for 10 days on a conference/holiday. This hotel was exactly what I wanted, reasonably priced, a well connected location and a comfortable room. The room was very small but being on my own that didn't matter as I was happy to sit on the bed. The breakfast was nice when I tried the Japanese offerings, the European ones were poor. The service at breakfast was poor, they seemed understaffed. I had to wait for a table not because of lack of space but because the used crockery wasn't cleared away. There were lots of times where there were no bowls/glasses/cutlery left to eat off. The staff seemed nice. I didn't need to talk to them much, which is a good sign. Their English seemed fine to me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Basic needs were met but room was a little tiny.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Room was clean. Location was accessible, 10 mins walk from the JR Kyoto station.
Cons: NIL
Location: Location was a 10 mins walk from the JR Kyoto station. Very accessible.
Overall, room was clean, reception was courteous. Basic needs were generally met. Unfortunately, room was a little tiny. I guess it is an aspect for many hotels in japan. Hence, this is expected.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

The hotel is clean and tidy

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Clean & Tidy
The hotel is clean and tidy. About 10 min walk from Kyoto Station
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Reception: FUJISAKI, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our APA HOTEL . We are honored to read your warm comment regarding our facility and service. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

方便舒適的居所

Posted Aug 5, 2016
酒店的房間雖小,但五藏俱全,需要的設備全部都可以在酒店內找到。半雙床兩人睡的話有點狹窄,但也挺舒適。酒店距離京都站約10分鐘,比另一間APA Hotel大約遠兩個街口,旁邊剛好有一間7-11,位置還算方便。如果不介意房間較小的話,這間酒店會是個不錯的選擇。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangkok, Thailand

Great Value for Money and Location

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, service, location
Cons: wifi connection in the rooms
Location: Kyoto Station as well as the food court. Kyoto Tower
Right next to Kyoto Station which has JR Access. Everything good except the internet connection in the room. But if you're okay with using internet in the lobby then it's all good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Reception: FUJISAKI, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our APA HOTEL . We are honored to read your warm comment regarding our facility and service.Your valuable comment will be shared by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future. Warm Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

朝食が美味しかったです。

Posted Jul 24, 2016
初めて作りたての湯葉をいただきました。やわらくて美味しかったです。是非朝食をおすすめでご利用ください。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sulmona

Comodo e conveniente

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Il punto di forza dell'hotel è la posizione, specialmente per chi ha il JR pass e vuole raggiungere Osaka e altre destinazioni. Mette a disposizione degli ospiti un kimono e fornisce spazzolini, spazzola, ciabatte e altri prodotti. La colazione offre in chiave giapponese piatti occidentali di buona la qualità e consente di assaggiare anche prodotti locali.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room and breakfast menu

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Stayed in APA hotels in Nagoya and Kyoto within a 15-day period. Kyoto room was smaller than Nagoya's. Breakfast buffet in Nagoya was also better with alternating food served, instead of same menu everyday. But otherwise Kyoto experience would have been just as nice as Nagoya's.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

decent hotel, rooms too small

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The toilet
Cons: Everything was too small
The reviews said that the hotel was walking distance to Kyoto Station. Upon arrival we were informed that we'd need to take a taxi because it was too far to walk. The public bath experience was....interesting. I had read in the reviews that the rooms were too small which I took for exaggeration but found to be terribly accurate. The staff tried to be helpful but seemed to have limited knowledge of the area and spoke only limited English. Very "authentic" breakfast experience but over priced.