Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
The Jap style room is too small for 4 persons. When requested to change room, the front desk staff (tall male) was very rude.
5 out of 5
by Bonnie from Houston

Loved it

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
This was by far the best of the hotels we stayed in while in Japan, the staff was helpful and friendly, they have a shuttle to the nearby subway station the open air bath and Japanese style room was very comfortable. i just loved everything about it.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Virginia

Great Onsen room

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great room, very traditional Japanese. Be prepared when going to breakfast - self grilled fish is the main course. There is a nie Japanes restaurant next door that is more reasonably priced. The Onsen on my balcony was outstanding!
5 out of 5
by Yestine from Singapore

Best stay ever!

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
While it is common to expect great service from Japanese hotels and ryokans in general, Biwako Ryokusuitei has outdone all my expectations. We arrived early ahead of our check-in time (check-in and check-out timing was not specified on our hotels.com booking) but they came and picked us up from the station anyway and even suggested and dropped us off at some nearby sightseeing locations so that we could while away time until check-in. The family room with private onsen was spacious and beautiful with a magnificent view. The dinner we had was beautifully presented and delicious as well; well worth the money spent. All of their service staff was attentive, polite, and helpful even though they do not speak much English. Overall a highly recommended stay if you are looking for onsen with great Japanese service.
5 out of 5
by Sally s s

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Ashley from Hong Kong

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Room was not what we were expected. Staff can barely speak nor understand English and with attitude.
4 out of 5
by Yin Siew from Kuala Lumpur

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the stay, fantastic ! Nice view, great room Onsen , but the only thing is we don't really appreciate the traditional Japanese food. Overall still very satisfied. We had a happy stay.
4 out of 5
by HIU FAI

Quite nice stay. Good customer service.

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was generally good. Room and meals were good, just a little bit over-priced (but I could understand because it was the popular maple season). There's one merit I really want to stress is their customer service. I booked this stay and another duplicated stay due to some system error or something. I thought I would be charged 100% as stated in the hotel policy, but after long negotiation between Hotels.com and the hotel, the charge was cancelled. :) Sorry for the trouble and thanks a lot for the understanding! Thanks again!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very Authentic Experience

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Location: There is nothing nearby - at all!
We stayed here during "Silver Week" - a week with 3 holidays that gives everyone a 5-day weekend (that happens every 6 years). We're thinking that because of this, that's why the room was almost $450 (Western-style with private open-air bath, but no dinner). First of all - you need to order dinner. Since you must check in by 7 pm, either eat beforehand, or order the dinner as there is very little around where the hotel is. Frankly, the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Next - the open air bath was much smaller than expected and not very comfortable (felt like I was going to get a splinter from the wood siding). Room was spacious, but seemed quite dated, as did the rest of the place. For breakfast, we had a buffet and it was very authentic/traditional with various fish that you can cook on a grill on your table. All of the fish had their heads on, or skin, etc. We didn't really eat much of anything and were out in under 5 minutes. If you're up for the culture part, go for it. We thought we were, but at 8 am, not so much. The staff were very nice and helpful, although not sure how many Western visitors they get. Overall, we thought that this was way overpriced for what we got and not at all worth it.