Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our stay here. Convenient location and friendly staff. We had a room with a private bathroom which was definitely nice. We didn't use any of the shared bathrooms but they looked clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Can't find a better budget accomodation in Kyoto. Really didn't feel "budget" at all. Staff is great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Wotif
Amazing service and food. We loved our own private onsen in the room, recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
We booked two private rooms. 1st time staying at a hotel of this type, and found it very unique and cool. Staff were more than helpful with showing us map of surrounding area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple Japanese style in near Kyoto Station

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
This is small Japanese style in minus onsen. It is located close to Kyoto Station (5-10 minutes walking). The staff was quite helpful and informative, speaks decent English, but not so friendly (hardly smile, though he was nice). The private bathroom was sophisticated and so the bath console thingy. My room was facing the Kyoto tower. Stored my luggage in the locker at lobby after checked out, but there's no tag or security so it's based on trust. Overall it was a nice stay, with reasonable price plus near by Yodobashi and Station, I would definitely staying here again in my next trip to Kyoto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff and location

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at this place are amazing! Sure, the rooms are very small and it is budget accommodation but despite this fact Hotel Ryokan has an amazing location, great staff and amenities for washing and a communal kitchen. There was a kettle in our room, great shower and the staff provided so much information to help you get the most out of your stay (maps, advice etc). Thanks Hotel Ryokan!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Wotif
The introduction booklet was extremely helpful. I wish I had read this booklet before my stay. We stayed in the double Japanese style rooms. They were small but normal within japan. The station was a little further away than we thought but definitely walkabke. Even with wheeled luggage we were able to walk it in no time without hinderence to cars (there is a path. No walking on the street)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Super helpful and polite staff. Ryokan rooms have everything you need with private modern shower and toilet. Good location within easy access of Kyoto station for all major metro and train lines and in close proximity to some of the area's nicest temples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Good location close to many small restaurants/food bars. Easy access for buses etc. There is even a temple just around the corner!
A really unique concept and quite fun! It was very different to have the shower at the end of the bed but the room was great :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Japanese style hotel with very good service.

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
It was a typical Japanese room with exceptional good service!