Ratings based on 374 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Perfect location. Best hotel so far on our holiday

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Location is perfect. It is across the road from Kyoto station. The room is nicely layout so that you have space for you luggage. The shower was great. We did not try the free noodles or the onsen but both sound amazing (I am pregnant that is the only reason I didn't try the onsen). We did use the washing facilities. Detergent and washing machine were free, only cost was to use the dryer (min charge). Highly recommended this hotel - we were recommended this hotel by a Japanese friend. It's a great choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel close to Kyoto train station.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Very happy with stay as initial unhappy incident regarding a smoky room on the low floor was resolved. Asst manager and rest of staff appreciated our feedback on the long wait for our room and the eventual allocation of a smelly (we had specified a non-smoking room in our booking) room. We were moved to a much cleaner and nice smelling room for the next 4 nights of our stay. Hotel even gave us a free breakfast voucher to express their apology. They had also called Dormy Inn Umeda Higashi to remind tgem to put us up in a non-smoking room in a high floor after learning that we woukd be there after Kyoto. Hotel guests were generally couples or families and friends, so the hotel was not too noisy or overcrowded. Lawsons on the ground floor was a boon for grabbing a quick bite or any other emergencies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not Disaapointed

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Hot Spring
I am glad I picked Dormy Inn to stay because its convenient. Theres a convenient store downstairs, Kyoto station across the street, not too far from many temples, multilingual staff , and hotspring is my favorite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over-priced but nice decor

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Location was great. Nice, modern decor.
Cons: Clean bathroom, improved soundproofing
Location: Not much - but with central train, subway and bus depot a block away it was easy to get to locations around the city.
Shower was not clean; also not 100% sound proof - I could hear muffled sounds of people in hallway and on the street outside (my room was on the 2nd floor) and the alarm going off in the room next door, but otherwise room was clean and furnishings modern - nice layout and convenient location to the train station, shops and restaurants. The train station has multiple info centers where English is spoken and staff there can advise on how to get around the city. Hotel staff slow, but helpful. Would stay here again if the price was right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice and clean hotel with good service.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Very close to the train station, food, mart. Very comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel with free hotspring, free Ramen and nice breakfast We enjoyed the stay a lot. The location is good, closed to Kyoto station which you can take the bus / JR / subway easily.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great lolcation and small but very functional room

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
very convenient location- close to the mail station and bus and other public transportation, room is small but very functional, breakfast is very good, although there is only shower in the room, a large public onsen in the property, which provides interesting experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels