Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
this is one of my best exp ever in japan. Thanks for mako
5 out of 5
by Silvano

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed there for six nights, and found it very comfortable with all the facilities provided for a relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Summer in Kyoto

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Our family of four (two kids aged 11 and 15) enjoyed a fantastic week at Gagakuan. Our host Saki was very responsive from the initial reservation until we departed. She even dropped off a delicious birthday cake for my daughter who celebrated her birthday the day before we arrived. This is not a traditional hotel room but a traditional Japanese house in a very nice neighbourhood. The house itself is very well equipped and a fantastic way to experience living in a traditional family home. Although more than 100 years old and very traditional, it has been equipped with a number of modern touches that enhance the stay. Our two kids were absolutely fascinated with the house and the entire environment. For our purposes, it was ideally situated between Kyoto station and central Kyoto. The Gojo subway stop and the bus stop are both less than a five minute walk from the house. This allows you to easily access the public transportation system to all of the wonderful temples. We also took side trips to Osaka, Nara and a day trip to Hiroshima using our Japan rail passes. Except for a few hot days (typical for Kyoto in the summer), we had a perfect time in Kyoto thanks to our great stay at Gagakaun and the kind generosity of Saki. We hope we get another chance to return to Kyoto and see the things we missed this visit and stay here again.
5 out of 5
by May Gee from Singapore

Great stay.

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay. The lady in charge was very nice. The place is not easy to find for first-timer but she kindly picked us up at the train exit. Also gave many advices on traveling. Place is clean and well-equipped.
5 out of 5
by Peng-Ying from TW

What a wonderful place!

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
This stay experience is way beyond our expectation. The house is full of surprise the moment we stepped into it: cozy and comfy, wonderful space, beautifully designed, friendly-arranged in every details. The house owner is very nice and provided information needed before we arrived and during our stay. My family and I just love of all this house and the comfortable and warm aura it offered. Moreover, nice spot, traffic is convenient, quiet and wonderful temperature while sleeping at night. EXCELLENT!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Overcharging guesthouse with rude staff

Posted Jan 21, 2015
This is an overrated, overcharging guesthouse with astonishingly unfriendly staff. If the staff did not send me a rude email after I left. I would have been this harsh. Since they started this, then let's be frank. First, it charges as much as a hotel, but it does not provide housekeeping at all. The townhouse we stayed before, just one block away, provide full housekeeping everyday with extremely nice attitude. Second, they say they have a full kitchen, but they don't even have a rice cooker. Oh, there's only washing machine but no dryer. We left with a full suitcase of wet clothes. Third, we are about 6 feet tall, and we hit our heads ten times everyday--the strange wall block in the bath room, the rafter in the bedroom, and etc. The last but not the least, the staff member wrote a long email accusing me of using the futon without acknowledging them because they are "not hotel but a special Machiya." And they only welcome "polite" guests, which obviously does not include us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice little home in Kyoto

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
Very warm welcome and good service. The little house is very convenient. The location is quiet.
5 out of 5
by sherri r from New York city

heaven in Kyoto

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Makko has created the most perfect blend of home, luxury, comfort and style. We want to live there. Every day. Conveniently located with the most serenely tranquil aura. Aftrt a day trekking there is no better space to come home to. We were so gratedul for a cold bottle in the fridge and lovely veggies and cheese and a rainy evening while we were snuggled dreamily.
5 out of 5
by Karena from Taiwan

很溫馨的民宿

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels
很棒很溫馨,老闆人也好貼心,環境超舒服,而且是樓中樓,我們還想住一個禮拜!!真的太舒適了!!
5 out of 5
by Robyn from Singapore

Perfect for a family holiday!

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at Gagakuan during Kyoto's cherry blossom season, which was brilliant and recommended for all travellers to Japan! Gagakuan is a renovated period style Japanese townhouse, very centrally located to trains (Gojo station), cool areas of Kyoto (Nishiki Market, Gion, Teramachi, supermarket, local restaurants), and very safe. Mako san, the owner, helped make our stay a fabulous one - from before we arrived (maps in Japanese, giving taxi driver directions in Japanese), to making us comfortable in the house, guiding us to local sights and activities, with great communication during our stay. The house has everything you need and so much better than a hotel. We loved the separate living spaces, very comfortable beds, cooking facilities and the deep bath! Taxis to most of the major sights was ridiculously cheap as Gagakuan was in close proximity to everything, and you can flag them down in the street one block away from the house. We had a fantastic time and would definitely stay here again, as well as recommend this place to others.