Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
A bit noisy at night for insomniacs, but made up for it with good service and amenities for those after the ryokan experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Unforgettable experience The best in Gjon You taste the real Japan here................
4 out of 5
by Tiffany from Long Beach

Amazing little getaway

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
It was amazing time. The food was delicious. Got a massage and it was just what I needed. There's a ryotenburo (outside tub) and it was amazing. The guys and girls public bath changes floors daily. Worth a day or two especially if you need done rejuvenation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah, usa

Great inexpensive Ryokan

Posted Feb 2, 2015
My wife and I had a great time at this Ryokan. It's A short walk away from some great sights im Higashiyama, the staff is very friendly, and the amenities are good. It's not super fancy by any means, but everything is very clean and the room was very nice looking - exactly what we wanted in a Ryokan.
4 out of 5
by Tracy from USA

Clean, traditional hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed this hotel, especially the traditional rooms and traditional, formal Japanese breakfasts. The rooms have a tea table, and if you drink tea (we don't), they will do a traditional tea service with you during your stay. They set up your futons in the evening. If you eat the breakfast at the hotel, it is a formal, sit-down breakfast at a time you select in advance. If you are not there right on time they will call your room. We had the western and Japanese breakfasts. Both were filling, delicious and very interesting. They require you to turn in your room key each time you leave the hotel which was off putting at first. The hotel is on a major street in the heart of the older neighborhood with lots of shops and restaurants and a large shrine. The nearest subway stops are a 15 or so min walk to or from the hotel which is a pain with luggage. We decided to take a taxi back to the train station. Most of the hotel staff do not speak English, but the front desk staff can communicate pretty well and helped us look up places to visit and prices for baseball tickets in Osaka. Plus, they went outside and flagged down taxis for us, telling the drivers where to take us. Bathrooms fixtures and rooms are dated (pink porcelain sink and toilet), but everything is very clean. Rooms are large. Wifi worked well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

A good value and well-located ryokan

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Calm and comfort of the rooms. Courteousness and gentility of the staff. The good Japanese cuisine. Public bath on the roof.
Cons: A larger outdoor public bath if space ever permitted.
Location: Very good location in Gion, with access to other places by foot or public transport.
Very pleasant and tranquil - a restful place to return to at any time of day - and a great location for sightseeing in Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Experience in the Heart of Gion

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Helpfull friendly staff, in a handy location, a cultural experience enjoyed by the whole family
3 out of 5
by AL34

Interesting

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels
Good for exposure to a traditional ryokan experience. In-room food was pretty good, and presented beautifully. The personnel were as helpful as possible given the lack of English. Great view overlooking the mountains directly across from a huge temple complex. Would definitely recommend for one night.
4 out of 5
by lindsey from UK

Great service and location

Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels
Gion Fukuzumi is a great place to experience a traditional ryokan - and great value considering the normal cost to stay at other ryokans in old Kyoto. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our stay. It is also within easy walking distance of the old teahouses (where you may glimpse Maikos going about their business) and shops, and also easy reach of the station/bus stops to access all the main sights.
5 out of 5
by Emmanuel from Jakarta

Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels
Other than the low power dryer and extra charge for additional towel, everything was excellent and we really enjoyed the hotel. Most major attraction reachable with only one bus and close to the main street as well.