Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 28, 2015
Unforgettable experience The best in Gjon You taste the real Japan here................
5 out of 5
by JIAHUI from shanghai


Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tiffany from Long Beach

Amazing little getaway

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
It was amazing time. The food was delicious. Got a massage and it was just what I needed. There's a ryotenburo (outside tub) and it was amazing. The guys and girls public bath changes floors daily. Worth a day or two especially if you need done rejuvenation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Feb 18, 2015
아침식사 소박하고 간결하면서 맛이 있네요. 전체적으로 숙소 직원들 모두 편하고 좋습니다. 단지 실내 온풍기에서 하얀 가루 같은게 나오는데. 이침에 보니 하얗게 묻어 있다군요. 뭔지 모르겠는데 좀 찝찝. 나머지는 모두 맘에 듭니다
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

또 가고싶은 료칸!

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels
비교적 저렴하면서 관광지와 가까운 곳의 료칸을 찾고있었는데 딱 좋았습니다! 비가 오는 날에 갔는데도 부담없이 짐을 끌고 갈 수 있어서 다행이었어요! 오래된 건물이라는 느낌이 많이 들지만, 나쁘지 않아요! 식사가 정말 맛있어요!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah, usa

Great inexpensive Ryokan

Posted Feb 2, 2015
My wife and I had a great time at this Ryokan. It's A short walk away from some great sights im Higashiyama, the staff is very friendly, and the amenities are good. It's not super fancy by any means, but everything is very clean and the room was very nice looking - exactly what we wanted in a Ryokan.
5 out of 5
by 박종석 from 서울

편하게 잘 쉬다 왔어요~^^

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
친구와친한형과 같이 가게된 여행. 1분거리에 야사카신사가 있고!! 한...15분?20분 정도 가면 기요미즈데라가 나오고~~위치적으로 너무 좋았어요. 숙박도 너무 아늑한 다다미방, 방 안내해주면서 차를 끓여주시고, 야츠바시와 차맛초콜렛도 구비해놓아 좋았습니다. 바깥 창문에 기온인마치의 모습이 보이고!! 바깥 둘러보다 저녁에 들어오니 방안에 깔려있는 이불과 침구들~^^ 너무 편하게 다들 숙면했답니다. 저희는 내부 욕실이 딸려있는 방이었구요. 거의 밤 11시 가까이 되서 들어왔는데, 다행이 대욕장이 아직 오픈되어 있어 욕탕에서 피로도 풀고, 조그맣지만 매력있는 소형노천탕도 들가보고 너무 좋았어요~!! 다음에도 교토 들리면 기온후쿠주미인!! 들리겠습니다~ 아!! 조식!! 조식 너무 맘에 들어요~ 깔끔하고, 맛있는 간결한 조식~! 강추!
4 out of 5
by Tracy from USA

Clean, traditional hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed this hotel, especially the traditional rooms and traditional, formal Japanese breakfasts. The rooms have a tea table, and if you drink tea (we don't), they will do a traditional tea service with you during your stay. They set up your futons in the evening. If you eat the breakfast at the hotel, it is a formal, sit-down breakfast at a time you select in advance. If you are not there right on time they will call your room. We had the western and Japanese breakfasts. Both were filling, delicious and very interesting. They require you to turn in your room key each time you leave the hotel which was off putting at first. The hotel is on a major street in the heart of the older neighborhood with lots of shops and restaurants and a large shrine. The nearest subway stops are a 15 or so min walk to or from the hotel which is a pain with luggage. We decided to take a taxi back to the train station. Most of the hotel staff do not speak English, but the front desk staff can communicate pretty well and helped us look up places to visit and prices for baseball tickets in Osaka. Plus, they went outside and flagged down taxis for us, telling the drivers where to take us. Bathrooms fixtures and rooms are dated (pink porcelain sink and toilet), but everything is very clean. Rooms are large. Wifi worked well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

A good value and well-located ryokan

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Calm and comfort of the rooms. Courteousness and gentility of the staff. The good Japanese cuisine. Public bath on the roof.
Cons: A larger outdoor public bath if space ever permitted.
Location: Very good location in Gion, with access to other places by foot or public transport.
Very pleasant and tranquil - a restful place to return to at any time of day - and a great location for sightseeing in Kyoto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Experience in the Heart of Gion

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Helpfull friendly staff, in a handy location, a cultural experience enjoyed by the whole family