Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Séjour authentique

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Séjour très plaisant, l'accueil était parfait, et la jeune femme qui s'occupait de nos repas particulièrement adorable. Le confort reste sommaire, en particulier les oreillers très inconfortables. L'hôtel en lui même est superbe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highlight of our Japan trip!

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Great staff and accommodations! The onsen was clean and relaxing.
Cons: The price is the only issue, but you get what you pay for.
Location: Close by to the main Kyoto train station, great for day trips to Nara/Osaka/Arashiyama (in addition to all the temples in Kyoto!)
Wow - this place is incredible and gives you a true traditional Japanese experience. Right up front, I will say that yes, this place is expensive. Having said that, we are extremely happy with our stay and would highly recommend this place to others. You really do get a wonderful experience here. The staff's English is limited, but still very friendly and welcoming. We opted to get a dinner and breakfast package and it was great! After a few busy and tiring days in Tokyo, it was pleasant to just relax at Gion Hatanaka and have delicious food brought to us (the food was so intricate, unique, and varied...a small portion of it did not suit my taste buds, but I appreciated the effort as you can tell it was high quality and a lot of thought was put into preparing it). The attendant (?) who took care of us and brought our food/made our beds was so kind and friendly. The room was spacious, also a nice change of pace from Tokyo. We loved our stay here!
5 out of 5
by Hao from Melbourne Australia

Great hotel great food

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
It's a traditional ryokan with dinner and breakfast included. It involves sleeping on the tatami mats instead of western beds so if you have issues with this, then this guesthouse is not for you. For us, it was a great experience to try something outside of typical hotel experience. The food was amazing and the service was top notch! A really worthwhile experience for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

기온 료칸 경험

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
계단이 꽤 많았는데, 짐 때문에 이동이 불편한 편이었다. 일반적인 고급 호텔처럼 짐을 옮겨주는 시스템이 아니라서 이에 대한 불편은 감수해야 할 것 같다. 웰컴 드링크가 없었던 것은 좀 아쉽다. 객실의 화장실과 세면대가 멀리 떨어져있어, 화장실 이용 후 비누로 손을 씻기 위해서는 이동을 해야했던 것이 좀 불편했다. 이용할 수 있는 어매니티나 차를 마시는 공간 등이 좋았고, 기온 중심가가 가까움에도 조용한 점도 장점이다. 특히 주변에 가볼만한 곳이 2-3분 거리에 있어서 주변을 즐기기에 좋았다.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by yoshifumi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by P

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Margaux from Los Angeles

Traditional High Quality - Low on Public Transport

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Gion Hatanaka wasa great hotel located on the edge of Gion within walking distance of several shrines and many stores and restaurants in the old districts. It was rather expensive for what I feel we ultimately got, however we booked very last minute. All in all it was worth paying the money to get the traditional Ryokan experience as they provided traditional lounge wear and sleep wear during our stay and served us a beautiful and decadent breakfast in our rooms. Some reviews mentioned people not wanting to leave the hotel but the rooms are not very comfortable to "hangout" in as the beds are not laid out until the evening and then removed before breakfast is served. The only downside was that we were not near the metros or JR lines and the only taxis we took our entire 9 day Japan trip were while staying at the Gion Hatanaka. If there is another highly rated Ryokan closer to public transport, I'd reco staying there instead. We heard the hotel's Geisha show is not to be missed either, however we were there on a Sunday when the show was not offered.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2016
The staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful. Room is very clean.