Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A traditional experience

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Its tradition Japanese townhouse style and the location at the edge of Gion.
Cons: the house, in all its traditional authenticity wasn't very well insulated. Enough A/C units to keep it warm enough though.
Location: At the edge of the Gion district in Kyoto it is perfectly situated. Restaurants, shopping, shrines, temples and gardens aplenty.
We spent three nights and loved every minute of our stay. The owners were very kind and even spoke a little bit of English. They provided us with maps and brochures of the area and answered questions about local attractions. As a gift they had stocked the refrigerator with bottles of delicious Sake and beer. The lady of the house also provided us with warabi mochi and hand-whisked green tea upon checking in. Contrary to what was stated on the Expedia listing, free WiFi was provided. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, United States of America

Amazing place! What a pleasure to stay here!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
From the moment we arrived we truly felt at home. The owners were so nice and welcoming. They did everything in their power to make us feel special. They helped with instructions around the area, best places to visit, restaurants etc... They took the time and explained to our 5 and 8 year old the history of their home and all 10 generations that had lived there. The history behind it was truly amazing. The actual house is beautiful! The photos do not do justice. Extremely clean and they really put a lot of attention to detail. You truly get to experience a traditional Japanese home. They do set up the beds on the floor but they are very, very comfortable! I have to words to describe what a beautiful place and experience this was! Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The best experience! The owners were so kind and helpful with recommendations, even bringing us fresh cut fruit as a surprise. The townhouse is beautifully kept and it felt like we had the keys to a museum in a way. The location is excellent for exploring Gion and also close to a subway. 5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: a beautiful ryokan type house
Location: excellent location near by Gion main romantic streets
A beautiful house from another time, full of history, all for you, with beautiful furniture, all comfort, renovated with care, and excellent location. very much recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Truly historic

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Amazing stay in a traditional townhouse in the Gion. Friendly and helpful owners. Very private stay in a quiet location. Easy to tour the main regions of Kyoto from this stay. Traditional bath made it feel a little like a spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful place. Photos don't do it justice.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Welcoming hosts. Very helpful with lots of information, maps and lonely planet guides. Organised luggage delivery for us. Beautiful place with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Very spacious. Great location. We walked everywhere. Train station 5 minutes away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Absolutely everything.
Cons: It's not cheap but completely price-worthy. They don't provide breakfast or dinner, but again, not needed go out as there are great places just around
Location: Lots of shrines, train connections and great restaurants
Amazing experience, a must do. The place is gorgeous and well located. We had a Japanese person with us, that helped with the communication but It didn't seemed that that would be a problem anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

loved this house. the owners were so gracious .

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Location: We walked everywhere. Great sites, great restaurants.
Had the best time in Kyoto staying here. Most gracious hosts. Townhouse was beautiful and so comfortable. In great location. We loved the feel of having an experience like this. Definitely would recommend.
4 out of 5
by Hilary from Basel

Traditional Japanese Experience

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
This is a traditional Japanese town house-genuinely 200 years old. The owner speaks reasonably English and is quite helpful. I loved it but sleeping on a futon on the floor did not go down so well for my husband. Just one word of warning-we were told that the contents of the fridge were complementary but were then charged for tow small bottles of Saki...this might have simply have been a misunderstanding.
5 out of 5
by Russell from Wisconsin

Loved it!

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Gion-Kinpyo is a renovated townhouse that we had to ourselves, like a condominium. The accommodation is charming and spacious, and the soaking tub is a great way to relax after a day of sightseeing. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, and while they don't have a full command of English, we had no problem communicating. All in all, it's a great alternative to a ryokan.