Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Japanese Ryokan

Posted Aug 5, 2016
A very nice traditional Japanese experience in the heart of Gion!!
5 out of 5
by Dina from Houston

Great place in Gion with polite staff

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Terrific location

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Highly recommended! Tucked away, but very close to Gion - my favorite area of Kyoto. Staff is wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Kristen from Park City

Great location in Gion and very nice staff

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
This is a traditional japanese Ryokan where your room is made up of a little living room during the day (chairs with backs on them but no legs) and then made up as a bedroom for the evening (sleep on soft pads with down comforters). We stayed here for two reasons - ryokan experience and the Gion neighborhood. It is a great location - unique lovely quaint walking area. We walked to Kiyomazu-dera and Yasaka shrine and Maruyama park. It is very close to the area where they have rickshaw tours. It is most easily accessed by a bus from Kyoto Station and a little longer walk from the subway/river front area. The staff at this hotel was so nice and helpful. They opened the door for us every time we came in; gave us restaurant ideas, etc. My husband was on crutches at the time and could still get around this neighborhood area.
5 out of 5
by Melissa from Oakton

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay at the Gion Maifukan. It was a bit difficult to find but once we got there, it was wonderful. The staff were fluent in English and extremely helpful. The room was a good size. The location was amazing - I cannot imagine staying anywhere but the Gion area in Kyoto. We were able to walk to so many different temples, the main shopping area, restaurants, etc. It was perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2015
The hotel provided exceptional service during our stay. The staff helped us book an appointment for kimono rental, as we didn't have access to a local phone during the day. All staff were fluent in English, which made it easier to communicate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northwestt

We were cared for meticulously!!!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The personal concern for guests' welll-being, cleanliness, attention to detail, great location near a large shrine that we waltked through daily.
Cons: There is a Japanese breakfast offered. It would be nice if they also offered an American/European breakfast option.
Location: Location in Higashiyama Gion district within a short walk of lge shopping streets. Gion could keep one busy for days. Many retaurants & shops nearby.
The staff was wonderful--proactive. For example, although we had umbrellas on a very rainy day, a staff-member followed us outside and had us use the hotel's larger umbrellas. The free water bottles, wonderful snack crackers and instant hot water for the delicious coffee and tea made us feel at home and very cared for. The hotel was spotless!! This is not a luxury hotel, but it still felt great with all the amenities and care given us. Everything was meticulously done..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Wonderful hotel in Kyoto

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff who speaks english. Most of our interactions were with a clerk named Waka who was very helpful and delightful.
Cons: We could have stayed longer which would have improved our stay. The elevator is a little small, but works well otherwise.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and many small restaurants, temples and shrines. Very good barber shop just down the street also.
My family stayed at Gion Maifukan in mid-May and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in room 405 which is one of their Japanese-style rooms. We found the room very spacious and comfortable. Komono-style robes were provided which we liked so much we purchased them for use once we got home. Gion Maifukan is a delightful hotel well situated in the Gion area of Kyoto. It was in easy walking distance to temples, shrines and shopping. The restaurant in the hotel served a very delightful breakfast that my family enjoyed. The employees spoke fairly good english and tried to meet our varied requests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

What a lucky find!

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Better instructions on how to use the traditional bathing facilites and the hot water pots in the rooms.
Location: I absolutely loved the location, easy to get to anywhere.
We adored the hotel. The staff were so polite and very accomodating, I was so grateful for them and feel it was the best I've ever experienced, as an example they would call a taxi for us and then walk us out front to grab the taxi to make sure we were safely on our way. They were also so helpful in calling the airline for us to confirm flights, restaurant recommendation, directions and where to rent bicycles. We stayed in both a Western style and Japanese style rooms, and I loved the traditional style room, the tv's worked beautifully and the lobby area was comfortable also. I loved the area the hotel was located as well. I would highly recommend a stay here and if I ever have the opportunity to return, I will most definitely stay there again. Thank you Staff! Arlene, 30/04 - 03/05/2015
4 out of 5

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels