Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely Hotel close to many good sights.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to all the shrines, temples, gardens and good restaurants. A typically Japanese neighbourhood.
This Hotel was perfect for our stay in Gion. The staff were wonderful and the most caring and pleasant we have met anywhere in the world. Nothing was too much trouble for them to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is clean and in an excellent position. Loved it and would highly recommend it to other travellers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Location, tatami room, yukata, staff, futon, French breakfast.
Cons: Slippers ... prefer didposable.
Great location, super nice hotel staff, spacious room, nice bathtab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Cannot recommend Gion Maifukan enough!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Gion Maifukan is located on a very beautiful, quiet street in the best part of Gion. Unbelievably nice and professional staff who went out of their way giving us directions and restaurant recommendations. We basically picked it at random only knowing that we wished to stay in the Gion neighborhood. We could not believe our luck! Location, staff, comfortable accommodations and reasonable rates. Give this place a try!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The staff here is amazing! Very helpful and kind and professional. The room was clean and comfortable and I slept very well. I had a Western style room. The location of the hotel is close to a number of shrines and temples and you can walk there. It's also close to the Kyoto subway line that you can take to the Inari shrine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Japanese Ryokan

Posted Aug 5, 2016
A very nice traditional Japanese experience in the heart of Gion!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Terrific location

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Highly recommended! Tucked away, but very close to Gion - my favorite area of Kyoto. Staff is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2015
The hotel provided exceptional service during our stay. The staff helped us book an appointment for kimono rental, as we didn't have access to a local phone during the day. All staff were fluent in English, which made it easier to communicate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwestt

We were cared for meticulously!!!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The personal concern for guests' welll-being, cleanliness, attention to detail, great location near a large shrine that we waltked through daily.
Cons: There is a Japanese breakfast offered. It would be nice if they also offered an American/European breakfast option.
Location: Location in Higashiyama Gion district within a short walk of lge shopping streets. Gion could keep one busy for days. Many retaurants & shops nearby.
The staff was wonderful--proactive. For example, although we had umbrellas on a very rainy day, a staff-member followed us outside and had us use the hotel's larger umbrellas. The free water bottles, wonderful snack crackers and instant hot water for the delicious coffee and tea made us feel at home and very cared for. The hotel was spotless!! This is not a luxury hotel, but it still felt great with all the amenities and care given us. Everything was meticulously done..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Wonderful hotel in Kyoto

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff who speaks english. Most of our interactions were with a clerk named Waka who was very helpful and delightful.
Cons: We could have stayed longer which would have improved our stay. The elevator is a little small, but works well otherwise.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and many small restaurants, temples and shrines. Very good barber shop just down the street also.
My family stayed at Gion Maifukan in mid-May and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in room 405 which is one of their Japanese-style rooms. We found the room very spacious and comfortable. Komono-style robes were provided which we liked so much we purchased them for use once we got home. Gion Maifukan is a delightful hotel well situated in the Gion area of Kyoto. It was in easy walking distance to temples, shrines and shopping. The restaurant in the hotel served a very delightful breakfast that my family enjoyed. The employees spoke fairly good english and tried to meet our varied requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

What a lucky find!

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Better instructions on how to use the traditional bathing facilites and the hot water pots in the rooms.
Location: I absolutely loved the location, easy to get to anywhere.
We adored the hotel. The staff were so polite and very accomodating, I was so grateful for them and feel it was the best I've ever experienced, as an example they would call a taxi for us and then walk us out front to grab the taxi to make sure we were safely on our way. They were also so helpful in calling the airline for us to confirm flights, restaurant recommendation, directions and where to rent bicycles. We stayed in both a Western style and Japanese style rooms, and I loved the traditional style room, the tv's worked beautifully and the lobby area was comfortable also. I loved the area the hotel was located as well. I would highly recommend a stay here and if I ever have the opportunity to return, I will most definitely stay there again. Thank you Staff! Arlene, 30/04 - 03/05/2015