Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Japanese Ryokan

Posted Aug 5, 2016
A very nice traditional Japanese experience in the heart of Gion!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Terrific location

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Highly recommended! Tucked away, but very close to Gion - my favorite area of Kyoto. Staff is wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2015
The hotel provided exceptional service during our stay. The staff helped us book an appointment for kimono rental, as we didn't have access to a local phone during the day. All staff were fluent in English, which made it easier to communicate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northwestt

We were cared for meticulously!!!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The personal concern for guests' welll-being, cleanliness, attention to detail, great location near a large shrine that we waltked through daily.
Cons: There is a Japanese breakfast offered. It would be nice if they also offered an American/European breakfast option.
Location: Location in Higashiyama Gion district within a short walk of lge shopping streets. Gion could keep one busy for days. Many retaurants & shops nearby.
The staff was wonderful--proactive. For example, although we had umbrellas on a very rainy day, a staff-member followed us outside and had us use the hotel's larger umbrellas. The free water bottles, wonderful snack crackers and instant hot water for the delicious coffee and tea made us feel at home and very cared for. The hotel was spotless!! This is not a luxury hotel, but it still felt great with all the amenities and care given us. Everything was meticulously done..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Wonderful hotel in Kyoto

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff who speaks english. Most of our interactions were with a clerk named Waka who was very helpful and delightful.
Cons: We could have stayed longer which would have improved our stay. The elevator is a little small, but works well otherwise.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and many small restaurants, temples and shrines. Very good barber shop just down the street also.
My family stayed at Gion Maifukan in mid-May and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in room 405 which is one of their Japanese-style rooms. We found the room very spacious and comfortable. Komono-style robes were provided which we liked so much we purchased them for use once we got home. Gion Maifukan is a delightful hotel well situated in the Gion area of Kyoto. It was in easy walking distance to temples, shrines and shopping. The restaurant in the hotel served a very delightful breakfast that my family enjoyed. The employees spoke fairly good english and tried to meet our varied requests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

What a lucky find!

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Better instructions on how to use the traditional bathing facilites and the hot water pots in the rooms.
Location: I absolutely loved the location, easy to get to anywhere.
We adored the hotel. The staff were so polite and very accomodating, I was so grateful for them and feel it was the best I've ever experienced, as an example they would call a taxi for us and then walk us out front to grab the taxi to make sure we were safely on our way. They were also so helpful in calling the airline for us to confirm flights, restaurant recommendation, directions and where to rent bicycles. We stayed in both a Western style and Japanese style rooms, and I loved the traditional style room, the tv's worked beautifully and the lobby area was comfortable also. I loved the area the hotel was located as well. I would highly recommend a stay here and if I ever have the opportunity to return, I will most definitely stay there again. Thank you Staff! Arlene, 30/04 - 03/05/2015
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth, australia

Great hotel in ideal location

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Staff were very friendly & helpful Rooms spacious, clean & comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Boutique hotel in the heart of Gion

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Excellent location. Helpful and friendly staff.
Cons: New disposable slippers for guests would be a welcome addition.
Boutique hotel centrally located in the top tourist district of Gion in Kyoto. Gion is the old Geisha entertainment area and a charming historical area of Kyoto. There are many shops, stalls, restaurants, parks and temples a short walk away from the hotel. Other tourist attractions in Kyoto are easily accessible by bus. The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful with directions and any other matters. The rooms were a little small but still clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

A glimpse into the Ryokkan Style

Posted Dec 13, 2014
If you are looking to stay in s traditional japanese hotel but are nervous about doing so, Maifukan is the place for you. We stayed in a traditional room and found it to be a great experience but still with the comforts of a western hotel. The staff all speak excellent English, the rooms all have wifi and television and the breakfast is definitely something to recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Great room. Perfect location

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Large room. Clean. Great staff. Location was perfect.
I've been to Japan many times and this was my favourite hotel. The hotel staff were excellent and the location was perfect - In the Gion district of South Higashiyama. It was surrounded by many of the main temples and attractions and not too far from the subway. I stayed in the Ryokan style room and it was great - very big room and very clean. I would definitely stay here again.