Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In Kyoto's old district-Gion, this ryokan is great

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Quiet at night, close to many beautiful temples and local cuisine. Walking to and from the bus is only 3 minutes and about a 10 minute walk to the subway gives visitors easy access to the whole of Kyoto. Staff is very helpful and friendly but their English is not great; expect to use your favorite translation app. Clean, quiet and a perfect example of a traditional Japanese ryokan, you can't go wrong here!
4 out of 5
by wan chun from 台北市

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
房間大,淋浴水很強,唯獨離地鐵站有點小段距離!整體還算滿意
5 out of 5
by Yuen Ka Stephanie from Hong Kong

A wonderful and traditional Ryokan you must visit

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is the first and the best hotel I had in Japan The service are great, people are really nice and awesome Special thing is, they said my japanese speaks very well~~~ The room are tidy and clean, they got everything I need The welcome snacks are great The big hot spring area is awesome!!
5 out of 5
by HERNAN from buenos aires

ryokan en Kyoto.linda experiencia

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
fue una linda experiencia alojarse en un ryokan, dormir en tatamis y usar la jukata .el desayuno japones no es muy rico pero es una ceremonia en si misma.volveria sin dudas.aparte esta muy bien ubicado cerca de varios templos
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice Ryokan

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: The location was good - in the heart of Gion. The staff did their very best to make you feel welcome. The Japanese breakfasts were great.
Cons: the futons could be thicker & softer.
Location: Lots of places to eat, several interesting temples nearby. 3 minutes walk to Gion shopping. Some interesting Japanese artisans are nearby.
The rooms were quite attractive, the Japanese breakfasts were excellent, the food was fresh and tasty and there was plenty of it. Some things I struggled with were, not having a bed to flop down on in the middle of the afternoon after a long walk in the heat. One had to wait until the beds were laid out at around 5 pm. After 4 days of sleeping on a thin futon on the floor I was hanging out for a western bed. But I am 60 and not as flexible as I used to be. I really struggled with sitting on the floor for breakfast. I became so uncomfortable the second time round that I hardly ate any breakfast. I had to go and find a bakery. I feel a bit uncomfortable here as I do not wish to diss the hotel. The staff were very helpful. though some had rudimentary english. As a genuine Japanese ryokan the place was very good. as accommodation for a soft westerner it left quite a bit to be desired.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
its was ok. the room was average, nothing super special to write home about, but the room was clean, and the bath was clean as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
My first trip to Japan, and i chose this japanese style hotel. Room is very clean and big. Staff is very nice.
5 out of 5
by mingchuan from 台灣

住宿經驗分享

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels
服務人員雖然不會說中文,可是態度非常親切,也很努力用各種方式和我們溝通,讓人感覺很溫暖和安心。
5 out of 5
by Uk Jeong from Seoul, Korea

훌륭한 서비스

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
객실은 깨끗하고 서비스도 만족스러웠음