Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington, Virginia, USA

Amazing Value in Central Kyoto

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Location is superb, and it is a real value in Gion. Traditional Japanese beds and chairs, full onsen (hot springs bath).
Location: 300 meters from central Gion.
The Gion Shinmonso is an amazing value, a 5 minute walk from the central area of Gion just of Shijo Avenue, closer to the Kamo River but between it and the Yasaka Shrine. A very nice onsen (hot springs bath) to refresh one after a long day of sight-seeing!
4 out of 5
by YE from 中国

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
地理位置不错,服务也不错
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very good room

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
very good
3 out of 5
by Lai Shan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.

Ryokan nel cuore di Gion

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Il ryokan è molto grazioso e a poca distanza dal Gion corner, circa 5 minuti a piedi, da provare almeno per una notte per scoprire le tradizioni giapponesi, la colazione però potete evitarla e prendere quella classica continentale, a meno che non siete degli amanti del pesce di prima mattina! Ottima posizione e personale molto cortese.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salzburg

Lage, Lage, Lage!

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Das es klassisch japanisch ist.
Cons: Kleinigkeiten könnten besser sein, z.b. Die Toilette in unserem Zimmer funktionierte nicht, ausgebrannte Glühbirnen.
Das Hotel liegt unschlagbar gut, viel ist zu Fuß zu erreichen. Wir hatten extrem heißes, schwüles Japanwetter. So schlichen wir von Tempel zu Tempel, und dann zu einem tollen Restaurant. Immer ein feuchtes Handtuch um die Schultern.
5 out of 5
by Wie-Chih from Taiwan

很棒的日式旅店

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
老闆娘很親切,早餐很好吃,房間裡還有哆啦A夢睡覺的壁櫥,小朋友很喜歡!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sendai

Great service but I wish the futons were longer

Posted Mar 26, 2015
This ryokan, in the heart of Giin, was an excellent one. The staff were all pleasant and polite, especially if you can speak some Japanese. The rooms were in excellent condition an, and while I personally wasn't able to eat their breakfast or dinner while I was there, they looked delicious. The internet they offered was respectable: not fast but not slow either. Finally, the sento they had on the first floor was excellent. As for the traditional aesthetics, I think this ryokan did very well. All the staff were wearing very nice spring kimono, which were appropriate for the season. The rooms each had three ikebana: one under the shoe box at the entrance, one in the tokonoma, and one on a side table. Of course, they had a yukata for each guest available as well as towels for the sent. It was all very nice. As far as complaints go, the only one I have is that the futons were a little short for me. Of course I'm a big American guy so I find it hard to fault them for that.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Nice location is the first and remarkable reason I recommend! On the other terms are also good.