Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Generally a positive experience. Difficult to get any information from staff as their English was not fluent.
5 out of 5
by Kelly

Great hotel. Book it

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
We loved this hotel. A little out of the way but at the end of the subway. Huge clean rooms. Great breakfast. Great view of trees out of window. Friendly staff. Highly recommend. I have to say that I did not realize everything is closed around New Years and is a family holiday for most Japanese. Therefore all the museums and things to view are closed and then when everything opens up on the 2nd the shrines are so crowded with locals it is very difficult to see anything. Recommend the JR train pass. But know that you still need to buy a card or tickets for the local trains and subways. The train stations are not as informative as other countries such as England, France Spain etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Nice hotel near the park

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Beautiful surrounding and quiet and peaceful. Staff are friendly, polite and professional.
Cons: The hotel is getting a bit old and tired. Need new carpets. Need more towel racks and a safe in a room.
Location: Next to the Kyoto International Conference Center and to the Takaragaike Lake. It is a beautiful setting. Quiet, peaceful and beautiful !
The hotel is situated next to the Conference Center and to the Takaragaike lake. It is a beautiful setting and we enjoyed taking a walk just from the hotel. It is a little far away from the city centre and it takes about 20 minutes by subway. But the subway station is within a few minutes walk from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with helpful staff

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Good quality hotel with excellent buffet breakfast. Great Chinese restaurant but drinks are overpriced in the cafe bar, the main bar not opening until 8 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Dated but still outstanding

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Although this Japanese 'bubble economy' era is older, it still exudes a level of sophistication of the past. It is in need of a renovation to its property. The distance and access to the city center is trying. The 5 star level of service has not dropped off. English speaking staff, exquisite food and diverse clientele were intriguing. There was value in staying at this property for my first time, in more ways than one. I will be staying here again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great time to stay in the hotel
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

excellent hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016
We stayed for a week nd were asked to change a room after 5 dys because of a leak in the bathroom. Instead of a regular (and excellent room) we were upgraded to a 2-room suite. A good solution for touble. Views ffom both rooms were very nice. Se lived on the 8th floorand could see mountains, bamboo forest and a nearby village. It's raining more often near hotel than in the center of Kyoto. You can have long wlks round the hotel and see all kind of animals and plants. Very nice location and very close to subway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely polite staff huge rooms clean and comfo

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Very much enjoyed my stay. Close to the city through the metro and feel that location is beautiful and peaceful. I loved the staff. All were polite professional and kind. Made a huge difference. Rooms were exceptionally large and clean. I was very happy with the stay and missed it as I checked out. Prince Kyoto has left an impression.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

One of the best value hotel I have ever stayed

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Large room at good price
Cons: very little
Location: It take about 20min traveling from the shopping area to this hotel. There is a lake beside this hotel, worth to pay a visit.
It take about 20min traveling from the shopping area to this hotel. And there is not much restaurants nearby. However, the overall value out-weighted the time expense. The room is so large and clean, the staff are nice too. There is a lake beside this hotel, worth to pay a visit.