Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Maravillosa ciudad

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: El hotel está situado en un barrio con muchos negocios de pottery, muy cercano a la zona de templos importantes y cercano al transporte.
Una hermosa ciudad, con mucha historia, cultura, con la dicotomia del pasado y presente coexistiendo a cada paso.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely people, great location & price but unclean

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: The owners were lovely and the location was very convenient for Kiyomizu Dera temple and walking to areas such as Gion.
Cons: Cleanliness. It is not acceptable not to have cleaned bedding before new residents.
Location: Convenient for several temples and restaurants. Great okinomiyaki restaurant nearby.
The hotel is very conveniently located, although quite a walk uphill from the nearest station - not great if carrying heavy luggage. Owners lovely, but English very basic and communicated via pre-written cards. Welcome drink provided and hot drink every evening. Two cats on property but I like cats, so not a problem. Biggest problem with this room was cleanliness. Not cleaned at all in 5 days was there and bedding dirty when arrived. Got bug bites from bedding. Shared toilets and sink also unclean. One very small and uncomfortable pillow meant I had to sleep on my cardigan most nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Nice hosts, nice room, nice bed but horrid pillows

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendliness of the hosts
Cons: Pillows
Location: Close to Gion and all the shrines and temples of the area. About 30 min walk from Kyoto Station.
Nice stay overall but hotel VERY difficult to find. Hosts are very friendly but don't speak English (they provide sheets with instructions). They brought tea and Japanese cookies every night in our room. The house is clean and very charming, close to several interesting shrines and temples. In our case, the major inconvenience were the pillows : very small, soft and filled with small balls... pretty impossible to get a good night sleep unless you like to sleep with your head flat. The house is difficult to find (we took the bus from Kyoto station and wandered in the area for an hour with our suitcases). It is better to take a taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from japan

素晴らしい

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: ご主人と女将さんの対応。
Cons: 小さくてもテレビが部屋にあれば…。
Location: 清水寺に近く、東山エリアはどこに行くにも便利です。
京都にて早朝から観光をしたく選択しました。 ロケーションは清水寺のすぐそばで、茶碗坂を少し入ったところ。 入口の看板が素敵で、すぐにわかります。 中はとてもアットホームな雰囲気。 部屋は天井が高く、狭さを感じませんでした。 バスルームや館内はとても新しくて清潔。 とても親切なご主人と女将さんが旅の良い思い出になりました。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

不错的住宿体验

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
很不错的住宿体验 地点在离清水寺5分钟的半山腰 晚上逛完衹园直接走回去都可以
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Geraldine from singapour

Nice stay with family

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
we spent 3 nights at yamato guesthouse. the owners are lovely despite the fact that they dont speak english. they managed to book us a taxi at the right time. The room was clean but i would just regret that there is no blind at the windows awaking us with the early sunlight. the guest house is close to the Kamikose temple but on top of a steep slope so it's not for the unfit !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland or,usa

As a guest house great facility

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Owners friendly trustees also walking distance to the kiyonmizu so did go many times back and shopping also conveniently but little far from JR
Cons: No breakfast
Location: Temple walking distance five minutes for shopping also. But every close early at 5 pm. So buying food at convenient store near by
Very quiet neighborhood,clean with basic necessities . The facility are renovated modern. We enjoyed staying and would go back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk, yorkshire

Great accommodation with friendly polite staff

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Great accommodation with polite friendly staff. The room size was great ( we had three beds for two of us ) The location was a little hard to find at first but perfectly placed for the temples and gion area of Tokyo. Short bus ride from the station ( don't forget to get a day pass for busses from the train station before you get on the bus ) Very very happy with the stay. Clean , tidy , comfortable , quiet and all set in great private grounds. Definitely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by William

Yamato good stay

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Great place, absolutely beautiful hosts !