Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Next to Kiyomizu-dera

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Very nice place. The hosts are very nice. The place is very clean and comfortable. It is in the middle of Kiyomizu area- in the side ally on the right hand side of the picture below
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel , definitely recommend

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice Japanese garden , excellent location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

So close to Kiyomizu dera!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: if it served breakfast, it would have been great.
Location: Kiyomizu dera, Yasaka Jinja, Kodai-ji temple, numerous shops with traditional items.
It was not the easiest to find because I arrived after dark, but the room was clean and comfortable. The hosts were kind and the best part was that it was so close to Kiyomizu dera. Unlike other temples and shrines in Kyoto, Kiyomizu dera opens at 6 am. I could go there and enjoy before the arrival of the tour buses.
5 out of 5
by Nadav

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, very friendly hospitality by the host and nice and convenient rooms. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Liberec, Czech Republic

Great place to stay in Kyoto

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
We spent a week here in the Japanese style room with futons on the floor, the room was very quiet and comfortable, they have typical Japanese construction with thin walls so you are at the mercy of your neighbors but during our stay all the other guests were quiet, in the evening you are given a tray with hot water in a thermos and green tea bags so you can make fresh tea in the evening and morning, the sounds of the birds and temple gong in the morning was a great way to wake up, the guest house is on a quiet street just a few hundred meters from a major tourist area, they are near a lot of the major temples and museums and shopping areas, it was a half hour walk from the railway station, the older couple who run the place were very nice but their English is not too good but with Google translate we were able to communicate. We would definitely return here and highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Austin

a cozy and convenient and old-style Japanese inn

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: convenience, decor, cleanliness, graciousness
Cons: Without putting additional burdens on the lovely couple who run it, it would be nice for there to be the option of breakfast at the inn.
Location: Inn is a five-minute walk from Kiyomizudera, one of the most-visited sites in Kyoto, but also convenient to the Gion and the Kamogawa dining area.
Steps away from the street leading up to Kiyomizudera, this little guest house offers a distinctly Japanese experience to travelers prepared for it. Tatami mats, futon, Japanese style fixtures and decor -- all are here, as well as a Western-style room or two. The result is an elegance NOT what the hotel star rating measures. This is a minimalist aesthetic: sleep on the floor? sit on a stool when you shower? tailor your schedule to the rhythms of the whole house? It's not for everyone. The couple who run the guest house are pleasant, kind, and well-versed in running a small inn. Some Japanese language, however, would be a necessity for any guest in the case of unexpected issues!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice guest house

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Everything you need. 4 guest rooms with 2 toilets and 2 showers. Room that we had was spacious. Although the owners didn't speak much English we could still communicate. Nice little touches like getting green tea when we came back in each evening.
3 out of 5
by Larissa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely people, great location & price but unclean

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: The owners were lovely and the location was very convenient for Kiyomizu Dera temple and walking to areas such as Gion.
Cons: Cleanliness. It is not acceptable not to have cleaned bedding before new residents.
Location: Convenient for several temples and restaurants. Great okinomiyaki restaurant nearby.
The hotel is very conveniently located, although quite a walk uphill from the nearest station - not great if carrying heavy luggage. Owners lovely, but English very basic and communicated via pre-written cards. Welcome drink provided and hot drink every evening. Two cats on property but I like cats, so not a problem. Biggest problem with this room was cleanliness. Not cleaned at all in 5 days was there and bedding dirty when arrived. Got bug bites from bedding. Shared toilets and sink also unclean. One very small and uncomfortable pillow meant I had to sleep on my cardigan most nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Nice hosts, nice room, nice bed but horrid pillows

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendliness of the hosts
Cons: Pillows
Location: Close to Gion and all the shrines and temples of the area. About 30 min walk from Kyoto Station.
Nice stay overall but hotel VERY difficult to find. Hosts are very friendly but don't speak English (they provide sheets with instructions). They brought tea and Japanese cookies every night in our room. The house is clean and very charming, close to several interesting shrines and temples. In our case, the major inconvenience were the pillows : very small, soft and filled with small balls... pretty impossible to get a good night sleep unless you like to sleep with your head flat. The house is difficult to find (we took the bus from Kyoto station and wandered in the area for an hour with our suitcases). It is better to take a taxi.