Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hosts and neighborhood

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
The whole stay was great. The train ride into Otsu was quaint. Otsu deserves a couple of days to visit. The host was very gracious and meticulous. Overall, everything was wonderful. If I were to visit Japan again I will definately stay hre again. We were a family of four, though it was a bit tight but we managed. The area surrounding the house was so clean. Also was able to use the washer, no dryer and lots of space to hang the clothes to dry. A good and pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport, UK

A truly Japanese experience

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: AN guesthouse is close to local railway line that serve many towns in Otsu and is close to Lake Biwa. There are plenty of Temple to visit, Kyoto, Nara
AN guesthouse is located in a very quiet and pinturesque neighbourhood easy to commute from Kyoto. The accommodation is a fully detached building with everything you would ever need. Everything is very clean and organised. AN guesthouse offer the option for breakfast in the cafe with options to chose if you don't fancy cook. The coffee is excellent and the environment very relaxing. We stay with two small kids and they treasured every moment. Their Japanese garden is lovely and we couldn't wish a better place to stay. I wouldn't hesitate recommend AN guesthouse to any of my friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cosy little place

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
What we liked about staying here was the experience of living in a normal neighbourhood and in our own little cottage. Shuji and his wife are gracious hosts. Shuji was very helpful in keeping us up to date on a typhoon that was threatening to turn the weather bad and in arranging our travel back to the airport in Nagoya. The cottage is clean and well stocked but be prepared for a lengthy explanation as to how everything works. Granted that English is not the owner's first language, he really does try very hard to make everything perfect and welcoming. To get the best out of this place you really need to spend at least a few nights. It's about 30 mins to Kyoto but we also spent an enjoyable day cycling around the local area including along Lake Biwo. We had a tasty lunch at a local German restaurant which looked and felt as though it was straight out of Bavaria, complete with German speaking staff and a fusion of wursts and Japanese, if you can imagine such a thing. Great fun.
5 out of 5
by Jessica

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Loved our stay here. It was a really cute neighborhood and An gave us great instructions and tips! Only regret is that we didn't book more than one night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 20, 2016
It is located in a very quite and nice residential areas, where you only need to walk about 15 mins to see the biggest lake in Japan. It is very homey and you can get whatever you want for a very Japanese way of daily life. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Lots of detailed information and maps about the surroundings are provided. If you want to experience real Japanese and a quite and historical getaway, I would recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic japanese style home - GORGEOUS!

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Guesthouse An was an absolute pleasure. Beautiful house and extremely friendly host. Very helpful with suggesting places to see and go and breakfasts very yummy! Location nice and quite and architecture was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Louie and family from Canada

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Overall guesthouse an is an excellent accommodation. The traditional Japanese style room is very spacious and clean. The room is fully equipped with full bathroom and kitchen. The Japanese futons are very comfortable as well. The owner is very helpful and friendly which makes our stay feels like home. Location wise the place is very close to train station which makes the access very convenient. The optional breakfast is extremely delicious and rich. I will strongly recommend Guesthouse An to every traveller.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kaitlyn from Wollongong NSW, Australia

An's hospitality

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: The way it was set up to be a guest house
Cons: It was far away from Kyoto where we wanted to be
Location: It is in a beautiful, quaint Japanese village with windy roads which made me feel like I was truly experiencing a unique part of Japan
An and his wife made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our experience in Japan and helped us by researching about places and printing information in english
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chick In 需要兩小時聽講解

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
想起這次住宿經驗 真的很不舒服 晚上七點到達 民宿男主人準備了一本厚厚的住宿須知 一個字一個字的講解 包括在零下1度低溫的室外 老婆小孩都快凍死的情況下 強迫全部的人都要聽 足足講到九點半 我和老婆擺臭臉給他看 他還不罷休 如果你們也想試試這種一輩子都沒遇過的經驗 可以來住一晚看看
4 out of 5
by rizki dinar from Jakarta

Recommended Japanese Style Guest House

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice and warm guest house.. Mr.Shuji Fujisawa and his wife are lovely and friendly person.. welcoming their staying guest as family members :) my mom.. my best friend and I strongly recommend AN guest house for your pleasant trip!