Ratings based on 1,284 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Quick email response, convenient
Cons: Be friendlier & more helpful on email response, possible earlier check-in if there are available rooms
Check In/Out: We arrived about 12.30pm and the room is still not ready - big hotel but fully booked? The concierge is nice to take our bags. Upon check-in, it was quick & smooth. Our luggage bags were transported to the room even before we arrived - so efficient! Check out was fast - just returning the room key & we are free to leave. Location: 5 mins walk from Karasuma Oike Station? There is a bus station on the main street. 7-11 & Family Mart is nearby. Staff: Very friendly, speaks English & they have sufficient staffs to attend to customers. Room / Space: VERY small but for the price we pay for, nothing much to complain. Bed, fridge, TV (we did not use at all), window, power points, toilet with basic amenities, bathrobes. The room is SO small that there is no space to even allocate the TV so it was at the corner of the bedroom. Food: Did not opt for breakfast, nor did they offer anything at all which is totally fine. Can't tell if the breakfast is good or not. Wifi: Free. Note that if you want to make bookings for Michelin restaurants/any other restaurants, the hotel will only help if you are dining on the day you check in, not the day you check out. They refuse to help to check if it has been booked (a Jap friend booked for us & all we needed was the hotel to confirm if there is such reservation). I guess it's their policy. On a positive note - their email response is very fast. Overall: Only book if you need a place to sleep & shower, no more, no less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to all shopping center.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Hotel location is convenient close to all shopping stores and within walking distance. Room is small but comfortable. Hotel staffs are nice but very limited in english speaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Close to subway station and bus stops

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. I made a mistake by overbooking a room, and they took care of it. Close to public transportation. Yayoi Restaurant 2 mins away.
Location: There's a restaurant called Yayoi at the intersection. Very inexpensive. Best panko-breaded pork chop I've ever had.
I booked the hotel because of the price. I was concerned about the distance from everything, but it turned out to be a very convenient location. Take a right from the hotel front door and you're steps away from a major intersection, you'll find a subway station on the right and there are bus stops on that main street that take you to major attractions. If you take a right from the hotel front door and head south, you'll get to Nishiki Market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Great location and service

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: I liked the location to everything and the cleanliness.
Cons: Breakfast could be free.
Location: Late night restaurant right across the street was amazing. There is a Managa Museum around the corner. Temples are also close.
The hotel was great. The locations was close to transportation and close to everything. The staff was friendly, patient, and very helpful. I would book this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, SC

I recommend this hotel to all

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities, breakfast, staff and accommodations.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near by to all the amenities Kyoto has to offer, top in my list nest time I visit,
Excellent location in a quiete part of town yet close to Kyoto's Metro transportation and bus systems ( five minute walk). Staff were friendly, professional and ready to assist you any way possible. Close enough to walk to Nijo Castle and the Imperial Palace. Free breakfast was an added bonus and quite a spread. I recommend this Hotel to families, couples and all. The rooms and bathrooms were clean with provided daily cleaning service. Hotel provided all the amenities you,d expect of a western hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Cozy hotel close to everything in Kyoto

Posted Nov 24, 2016
We loved the fact that the Hearton hotel was about a 5 min walk from the train station. It was also a short walk to the nishiki market. The rooms were a little outdated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but convenient

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Our hotel room was quite small for two people but it was manageable. The hotel staff was very helpful in providing us with recommendations of where to eat and letting us store our luggage overnight as we took a trip overnight. Location was also very convenient for the subway and the area was quiet, allowing for good sleep. Overall, it's a modest place but for a place to rest peacefully, it meets those needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

short stay in kyoto

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
very helpful friendly staff washing machine and dryer great for travellers good area of kyoto to stay close to subway
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels