Ratings based on 573 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great Hotel and Location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
A first class hotel in a perfect location for getting around western Japan. Not cheap but we were very pleased with everything about the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Korea

Access to everything

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The hotel is luxury level and connects to the train station which was so convenient and you could not hear the trains. The concierge was very happy to map out the sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Dec 28, 2016
This is a great hotel. I highly recommend staying here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great restaurant & shopping.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Stuff is really helpful. The room is very clean. I will come back here next time!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, Ca.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Nice location, nice rooms. Staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather expensive for what you get !!

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The convenience of being in the station, near many restaurants
This is rather expensive and overrated. We have been in hotels in Kyoto with more facilities at a cheaper price, but of course it's in the station itself, hence the price. We're a bit surprised as we wanted to use their 20 mètres 3 lanes pool, but had to pay £8 for the privilege each time!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Non-smoking room, but stingking smoking smell

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Hotel in station, only transportation is good. It is easy to move to the other city and airport.
Cons: Smell room, even if the staff told that it was non-smoking room, there were serious stinking smell. I felt that the staff was lying.
Location: location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Decent hotel in a super convenient location.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The best thing about this hotel is its location in Kyoto station. It was a wonderful convenience to be literally right on top of the trains, buses, and taxis we needed to access the amazing sights in Kyoto and surrounding areas. Also super convenient for a wide selection of dining and shopping -- from grocery stores to nice restaurants.
Cons: The hotel itself is a bit worn and basic. Maybe equivalent to a Holiday Inn in the States. However, it was clean and reasonably comfortable, especially since we didn't exactly come to Kyoto to hang out in the hotel. I would definitely stay there again bc of the fabulous location for touring purposes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Convenient location, comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Conveniently located in Kyoto station so when you arrive by the Shinkansen, you can walk right in and check in. Walkable to temples and gardens.
Located in the grand modern Kyoto station, the hotel is beautiful with a large comfortable lobby area. Decorated with original artwork, it has an elegance to it. We had a very nice room with a view of Kyoto. The room was generally quiet, except we did hear the train tracks once or twice. Our room was spacious with a king size bed with nice bedding and a beautiful bathroom with tons of amenities. Transportation was very accessible whether you took the train, bus or taxi. This was our second stay at the Hotel Granvia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: spacious room, decent breakfast
Cons: enforce smoking rules
Location: a little on the outskirts of the city core
Large rooms, beautiful lobby. Breakfast was OK. Scrambled eggs were runny. The congee was tasty. The major problem was someone was smoking near our room and the smell in the hallway and in our room was horrible.