Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AU

Worn out hotel with lovely staff

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Lastminute
I haven't had a bad customer service experience in Japan and this place was no exception with lovely, helpful staff with decent English. However the facilities themselves can best be described as depleted. The lobby itself looks inviting enough, and my first impression of the room was positive. However once I got to the bathroom the shine disappeared. It looks like it was built in the 80s and hasn't been renovated since. Cracked sinks, leaky taps, rusty fittings, worn out floors, battered toilet and altogether in desperate need of renovation. In the room itself the fixtures and fittings are newer than the bathroom by a perhaps a decade which still makes them old and overused. It was dirty, just aged. For the money you're better off elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Thudao from Oc

Disappointed

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
The wifi only works in the lobby. The free shuttle is only to the train station not the area attractions. The ad looks like beds bit its just futons
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beats not having a place to stay

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: *room was big. *bathroom was huge. *Room was available. Cons: *no temperature control - can't open windows. *No outlets to charge electronics *Extremely limited dining options nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice location with pleasant staff and good price

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: The location is very convenient to visit Gion and temples in the east area with walking distance to the Philosopher's path.
Cons: The bath room needs to be rid of molds and mildew.
Location: There are buses in front of the hotel which will take you to most of the temples and you can walk to the Philosopher's path and visit a lot of temples
It is easy to travel to see all the sights by bus #100, 203,204 and 5. The room is quite roomy and clean except the bath room. There are molds and mildews around the bath tub, on the wall and around the sink on the grout. The front desk staff offered another room, but we turned it down. It is too much trouble to move around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel with good location

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Definitely needs some maintenance in areas but tatami style rooms are clean and charming. Breakfast buffet is good. Overall good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Roji Fox

Wonders of Kyoto

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Orbitz
This Hotel's staff was very helpful and generous and the hotel itself, tho a bit worn about the edges was just fine. the location was nice with the help of our GPS phone maps easier to navigate with bus transit. It is located near many Temples and gardens as well as fine neighborhood cafes and restaurants if you ventured off the main road- which we did. The room was clean tho smoking abounds in Japan and you still get second hand smoke. Wifi is only in the lobby as in most Japanese hotels. Timing was not on our side with a group sharing the Sento so we did not get to use it. But overall I found it an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Nice hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Good location and good value for money. The breakfast a little expensive for what it offers The location is very good for visiting the east part of Kyoto. Next to the hotel you can find a very good coffeeshop. Gion is not far so you can go there for some drinks or dinner
3 out of 5
by Willamarie from SLC

Big bath closed fir schoolchildren.

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
It was near a beautiful shrine. The buses were frequent infront of the hotel and easy to get everywhere.
3 out of 5
by Doctor De from Ha Noi, Viet Nam

Staff

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
thank you for asking me like this. It was so hard for me to ask the way to get there, almost nobody in the city knows this hotel, even the mark of the hotel is so poor to see. staff in here is not good at English, someone is not easy to talk and share something...many things I should tell more, but I am so busy now. Once more, thank you for that