Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Le

If improve internet and bath will be better.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Good location. Easy for sightseeing any place.
Cons: No WiFi available in the room. Have come to small lobby for the internet. Internet WiFi is not working well either.
Just a standard Japanese Tatami floor. Have a place for wash you face inside the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel convenient to the station

Posted May 5, 2016
Lovely place, had a great time. Be aware that it is next to a major road with thin windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2015
The location is excellent. Hotel staff hardly understanding Englis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location, walking distance to everything

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Great Japanese experience
Location: Location perfect for transport, walking access to main areas of interest, shopping, dining
First time in Kyoto so thankful for trip advice from staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very helpful staff

Posted Mar 22, 2015
This hotel is in a fantastic part of Kyoto. It is A great experience with a well equipped onsen. The staff are very helpful and found a way to ship and store some of luggage for an extended period of time. The staff are wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional Japanese, central location

Posted Oct 17, 2014
First it's important to realize this is a ryokan style inn. It's great for experiencing some Japanese culture but comes with some inconveniences. First you are sleeping on the floor on some comforters and a blanket. Some people are ok with that, others might not be. The good thing is the room was quite large considering you are in Japan, and there are enough comforters and space to fit a group of 4 in there if need be. Also comes with a kimono and some tea. Tradition also dictates that you bathe in a communal bathroom! Might be interesting at first but gets annoying fast, especially as it's not open 24/7! Luckily they have a private shower you can request if needed. Location was really good. I was tired my first night I arrived in Kyoto so decided just to check out the area. Turns out you are right next to some strips that are dedicated to shopping and tourists. Just shops as far as the eye can see!! Also a pretty good udon and tempura place right next door. Be aware that stores and restaurants in the area tend to close relatively early at around 9-10pm. (In tokyo things seemed to stay open later) The hotel also uses keys and not cards so you drop it off each time before you leave the hotel which is a bit tedious. Overall I'm glad I got to experience a semi authentic ryokan, but I wouldn't do it again and I recommend if you decide to try it, there's no need to stay for longer than a few days. The hotel itself is good for what it's supposed to be!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by reception, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Musicman from Sea

Great location, traditional Ryokan style

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Location: Go see: Kyoto Imperial Palace Kinkakuji (Gold Temple) Kiyomizudera (Pure Water Temple) Fushimi Inari Shrine Nijo Castle
This is a Ryokan style hotel with tatami mats in main room, toilet in small side closet, and sink in room. Shared baths on the basement floor were clean and very comfortable. We spent two nights, mid-week during Cherry blossom season. Very convenient location to major shrines and temples in Kyoto area. Staff are friendly, main desk staff speak some English while room staff typically do not. Hotel is right next to Tozai subway exits 2 and 3 on south side of Oike Dori (street) across from Kyoto city office buildings (city hall). Honno-ji shrine is behind the hotel and can be accessed from three paths nearby. There is a good underground mall connected to the subway station with restaurants and shops including a nice grocery. Plenty of shops and restaurants within 5 minute walking distance. Some things to be aware of: - There was no A/C in our rooms on the 6th floor and with outdoor high temp around 20 degrees C the hotel rooms were very warm - As noted by others, hotel lobby is very smoky. If you don't like smoke it can be uncomfortable even passing through - WiFi is only available on ground floor (lobby), but you can stand outside the main door and get a good signal. Nice for those who want to avoid smoke If you are expecting western style hotel rooms this is not a good fit, but if you are up for a more traditional Japanese experience it is a good place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2014 by reception, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. We hope you had good stay at our hotel and enjoy in Kyoto,Japan. If you get another chance to visit in Kyoto, We hope you will stay at our hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from London, UK

No

Posted Oct 30, 2012
Pros: Location, communal bath and cotton dressing gown
Cons: Looks like a terrible hostel from outside
Location: Superbly central
No frills, and unappealing from outside. Room was nice, with everything i needed including a cotton dressing gown, fridge, hot water for tea and a small snack. The large communal bath was very nice and relaxing. Location is superb and central. Wifi available in lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Terriable hotel. Worst of my life

Posted Nov 28, 2011
First of all , the room is Very dirty. No service what so ever. If u want to come back after 11. U have to let them know first. Otherwise u will be lock out. But usually for travelers, we don't know the city too well. It's hard to tell when will I be back. Because it's like a traditional japanese room. Usually normal hotel will set up ur bed and take away in the morning. But here I didn't get any staff help. Most of the hotel rooms has no shower. But the price is crazy expensive(compare with the quality of the hotel) Please don't look at the hotel pics. The room looks so different. Location is the only good thing. And remember ur checkout time is 10. And they don't have shower in the room.so for who like to take shower in the morning. U d better wake up super early. This hotel is very noisy. Due to the thin wall. Don't hope u can get sleep after 6. Noise comes from everywhere. Upstaris, the next room or outside of the room. and staff will smoke in the hallway. The staff will go in ur room when u r sleep. That's the worse part!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ej

위치도 좋고 가성비 좋은 숙소

Posted Feb 20, 2016
위치도 좋고 대중탕도 만족스럽고 료칸 이불도 좋아서 푹 잘잤어요 다음에도 또 이용하고 싶어요