Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My first Ryokan

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Was quite nice except for the amazingly loud kitchen staff who insisted on keeping me awake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Le

If improve internet and bath will be better.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Good location. Easy for sightseeing any place.
Cons: No WiFi available in the room. Have come to small lobby for the internet. Internet WiFi is not working well either.
Just a standard Japanese Tatami floor. Have a place for wash you face inside the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Excellent location. Close to 1000 shops!

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Wotif
It's right in front of subway exit. Turn to the street on the right to find yourself bask in restaurants and shops. Turn to the left to get Japanese style souvenirs. Straight ahead a beautiful temple exists. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel itself offers traditional way of living. Wear your yukata lent from the hotel. Drink as much ocha tea as you want. Bathe yourself in the hot tub. Minus : no wifi in your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel convenient to the station

Posted May 5, 2016
Lovely place, had a great time. Be aware that it is next to a major road with thin windows.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms had a private toilet and sink but bathing facilities are public ryokan-style. There is no WiFi in the rooms but the first floor has free wifi. Location was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2015
The location is excellent. Hotel staff hardly understanding Englis.
2 out of 5
by Jeff from Los Altos

Japanese style hotel right across from city hall

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Orbitz
This hotel is 30 feet from one of the subway exits. I was on the inside so my room window looked in to the court yard of the Honnoji Temple. My room was big but very very simple. Not many amenities. It has two public bath area that are common in Japanese hotels, one on the 3 floor and one in the basement. I would rate these slight above average. Tea was provide in the room and in the hallways. Internet only in the lobby. Internet was fast enough to do phone calls from. I had no-issues or problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location, walking distance to everything

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Great Japanese experience
Location: Location perfect for transport, walking access to main areas of interest, shopping, dining
First time in Kyoto so thankful for trip advice from staff