Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
The hotel is very conveniently located, close to a subway station and to Dotombori. Our room was very clean and the night view of Osaka from the room was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JL

Nice stay will come back

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Like the hotel atmosphere, all staffs are friendly, Room is big, comes with a study area, Check in and check out is quick. Location is great with walking distance to bus stops, subway and Kyoto station, Will come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Nice hotel with good location, and traditional

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Clean, traditional look, best hotel staff I have ever experienced.
Cons: Some problems with connecting to the hotel website from the U.S., had to look at it through Trip Advisor. Warn guests about low height furniture.
Location: 12 minute walk to the JR rail station and temples nearby. Subway stop nearby as well. Take the subway and train whenever possible for faster travel.
Very nice and clean hotel. The staff was the best I have ever experienced. The only 2 drawbacks in my opinion are the beds are hard, and the furniture is very low to the ground, which was painful on my back and shoulders after sitting for a while. The big round wood soaking tub was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent renovated hotel with traditional feature

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Fantastic experience at Hotel Kanra. Rooms we're clean and newly renovated, with modern Japanese touches all over the room, including the wooden bathtub. Hotel is just over a 15 min walk the main train station. Staff were extremely attentive and helpful. On a wet Thursday evening, with my taxi across the road on the opposite side, the hotel staff kindly helped me with my luggages in the rain and wheeled it across the road complete with an umbrella. They topped it off by offering us the umbrella to keep; with a deep bow. Enjoyed every moment of the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Brand new hotel. Modern Japanese style. Very convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Lovely boutique hotel in a great location near Kyoto Station. A subway stop is literally steps from the hotel entrance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Perfect Kyoto Hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Absolutely nothing.
Location: The front desk staff all have amazing, personal suggestions.
The Kanra Hotel epitomizes the loveliness of Japan. The staff was exceedingly helpful and most gracious, the room was beautiful and calming; even the scent as you entered the lobby was delightful. If we could return tomorrow we would.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

It is a hotel to enjoy not just to park yourself.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: "Modern"-boutique version of a Japanese Inn. Young friendly helpful staff.
Cons: The main entrance is in a side street but the taxi stops at the main street. A large sign would help for late night arrivals.
Location: Walking distance to Kyoto Station without the hassle of crowds.
When i arrived on Saturday night, i asked for directions in Japanese to some sites. The staff provided not only the translation but useful details. For example, one spot was only open on the second and fourth Sundays. The layout of the room allowed for privacy, with a divider. There was a separate elevated space for a desk. Japanese hotels have relatively smaller room sizes. However, the room has a spacious bathroom with both a standing shower and a deep Japanese style wooden tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Jan 31, 2016
From the moment you walk in you feel welcome. The staff are excellent and very attentive. Whenever I am back in Kyoto this is the only hotel I will stay in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kauai, Hawaii

Perfect location and wonderful deluxe room!!

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Location and room
Cons: Ramp for luggage at front of hotel.
Location: 711 and Taiho ramen shop a few mins walk from hotel.
We arrived at 10:30pm and the staff on duty welcomed us warmly. We were checked in very quickly and in our big deluxe room. The bathroom setup was a little different from most hotel rooms we stayed at. We ended up understanding the style and reason, blend between. Japanese and modern. Note: the only issue we had was the hot and cold water balance ( watch out could burn yourself if you don't wait and test before jumping in shower and tub)!! And we did move the table closer to the tv and wal-la had more room for the two of us. In Japanese hotels. They typically don't have too much storage space for luggage, we had 4 regular size and 3 smaller be gas. And just started under the closet behind the couch. Overall, we loved this room!! Can't say anything about the. Other rooms. The staff very nice and helpful. They would walk out and bid us goodbye everytime in left for the day.