Ratings based on 2,027 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Comfortable hotel in business section of town

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room
Cons: prices for food in bar too high
Location: Map supplied from hotel misleading as is not to scale and tourist sites are generally too far away to walk.
Overall a pleasant stay with very helpful concierge staff. Room comfortable and bathroom clean. Hotel a good walk from tourist areas but taxis cheap and plentiful. Restaurants and bar quite expensive but plenty of more reasonable places an easy walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice hotel, good location

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: I thought the location was great. Nice stroll to restaurants etc of an evening, and close to subway station.
Cons: The wifi quality inside the rooms wasn't so good...they may need to look into that. The carpet in the rooms could do with a steam clean/replacing.
Location: Close to subway (Karasuma Oike station) and plenty of restaurants etc around. Temples and shrines everywhere in Kyoto.
This hotel is in a good location, handy to subway station (Karasuma Oike station) and to restaurants/night life. It isn't a really modern/contemporary hotel, but more of a classic/Art Deco look and feel. The buffet breakfast is good, and the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. The rooms are a little more compact than some of the others I stayed in while in Japan, but the bathroom is still a decent size. It is a clean and comfortable hotel, but if I was going to be super picky I'd say that the carpet in the rooms might be due for a good steam clean/replacing. The hotel has free wifi, although I did find it wasn't great when inside the room... maybe my room was in a bit of a black spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Perfectly situated hotel for Kyoto

Posted May 9, 2017
Very regal hotel and well appointed. The beds were a little firm for our liking, but really just fine. Breakfast buffet was generous and varied. From traditional Japanese to standard western. The hotel, is very well situated to the historic sites of Kyoto and the Nishiki Market which we really enjoyed. Don't walk from the station when you arrive in Kyoto though, it's only 1500yen for the taxi and well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The Staff are very helpful & friendly. Good room. Good facilities. Its just a bit far from the sights. The bus is 3-4 blocks away. Buses are the best way to travel around Kyoto. The hotel is very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Excellent Location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Very nice hotel, with excellent staff. The location is the real selling point, as you can walk to a number of very cool spots, such as the Imperial Palace. Quite close to a metro station, so easy to get around, and easy access from the Shinkansen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great location average hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Location: temple right across the street. the side streets
loved the location for exploring but the hotel was rather dated. Also, our expedia VIP gift for a drink was only good if we also bought dinner at the expensive and poorly rated restaurant in the hotel. Also, as is somewhat typical in Japan, we couldn't get a queen bed but only two twins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Good hotel in Kyoto

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Reasonable price for the facilities offered Good location Cool Chapel inside
We stayed in Hotel Monterey Kyoto for 3 nights. We travelled from Osaka by taking the express train service which took about 30 minutes and then took a taxi from the train station to the hotel. Hotel was located close to the Nishiki market and is walking distance from lots of good restaurants. We were a family of four (two adults and two children 5 years old and 1 year old) and had the triple bed room plus cot. Room was small but reasonable considering the price we paid. There was a vending machine plus ice machine on our floor which was convenient. Do make sure you don't lose your hotel cards, we lost one of our three cards and the hotel charged us 1000 yen for a replacement - never had to pay for a lost hotel card before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, Canada

Comfort and joy

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Close to places where we want to go. Very friendly staff. Excellent conceirge service. Will definite consider to stay there again if we come back
Cons: Would be nice if more than (1) English speaking tv channel.
Location: Shops, eatery, department stores, etc etc.
Very centralized location. Much better than we anticipated. Able to connect with the conceirge via emails beforehand and she was able to assist us with transportation to Kyoto from KIX. Also gave directions to go to Osaka via trains. Save a lot of worry being first time to Japan. Room size was fine and basically no complain other than poor tv channels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great for Kyoto Nightlife

Posted Mar 21, 2017
This hotel is convenient for travel bring near Karasuma Oike station. There tons of shopping at the Teramachi shopping arcade and there's great night life at Kawaramachi-dori. Also right down the street from Kyoto Manga Museum! Overall great hotel with stellar recommendations for food nearby and quiet, clean rooms to rest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The hotel was very comfortable and our room was spacious. The staff was very efficient and helpful, and their English was very good. The only problem we had was with the wifi which went in and out at night but overall it was a great hotel.