Ratings based on 2,043 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2017
The hotel staff was always ready to answer any questions. The rooms were very clean, and the breakfast buffet had options for everyone. I didn't make it to the spa but I read great reviews about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Just Okay. Don't expect much

Posted Jun 6, 2017
I don't think I enjoyed this hotel much. The hotel location is perfect. One thing I liked much is that the hotel is just a minute walk from the Karasuma Oike subway station (6 mins from Kyoto). There are a couple of Starbucks just close to the hotel, so coffee or food is a minute walk from the hotel. The rooms are clean but look so outdated. The hotel seems to have been renovated recently and hence the rooms have good colors, but not a large space. The bathroom is so small that the wash basin would protrude into the bathtub. I had to ask my kid to take extra care in being safe in the bathtub, as if someone slips in the bathtub, there's a high chance that they may hit the corner of the washbasin. Staffs don't have good English speaking skills. Only a few staffs understand and respond in English. I struggled a lot speaking to the reception staff at night to understand where the refuse bin was :) The restaurants in the hotel close before 9:30 pm itself. So if you come a little late after some sightseeing, better grab your dinner outside. The breakfast is not so great. They don't have a great spread, and they don't even have bread or toast machines or omelette. I asked them to refill maple syrup and I was told they ran out :) Also their breakfast is only until 9:30 am even on weekends. Since I'm a late riser, I thought I should not have bought the breakfast option in the hotel and I could have had my breakfast at Starbucks for half the price I paid the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everyone was very helpful

Posted Jun 1, 2017
We forgot a pair of new shoes there and they will send them to us,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Comfortable hotel in business section of town

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room
Cons: prices for food in bar too high
Location: Map supplied from hotel misleading as is not to scale and tourist sites are generally too far away to walk.
Overall a pleasant stay with very helpful concierge staff. Room comfortable and bathroom clean. Hotel a good walk from tourist areas but taxis cheap and plentiful. Restaurants and bar quite expensive but plenty of more reasonable places an easy walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice hotel, good location

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: I thought the location was great. Nice stroll to restaurants etc of an evening, and close to subway station.
Cons: The wifi quality inside the rooms wasn't so good...they may need to look into that. The carpet in the rooms could do with a steam clean/replacing.
Location: Close to subway (Karasuma Oike station) and plenty of restaurants etc around. Temples and shrines everywhere in Kyoto.
This hotel is in a good location, handy to subway station (Karasuma Oike station) and to restaurants/night life. It isn't a really modern/contemporary hotel, but more of a classic/Art Deco look and feel. The buffet breakfast is good, and the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. The rooms are a little more compact than some of the others I stayed in while in Japan, but the bathroom is still a decent size. It is a clean and comfortable hotel, but if I was going to be super picky I'd say that the carpet in the rooms might be due for a good steam clean/replacing. The hotel has free wifi, although I did find it wasn't great when inside the room... maybe my room was in a bit of a black spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Perfectly situated hotel for Kyoto

Posted May 9, 2017
Very regal hotel and well appointed. The beds were a little firm for our liking, but really just fine. Breakfast buffet was generous and varied. From traditional Japanese to standard western. The hotel, is very well situated to the historic sites of Kyoto and the Nishiki Market which we really enjoyed. Don't walk from the station when you arrive in Kyoto though, it's only 1500yen for the taxi and well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The Staff are very helpful & friendly. Good room. Good facilities. Its just a bit far from the sights. The bus is 3-4 blocks away. Buses are the best way to travel around Kyoto. The hotel is very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Janet

Nice place to stay for a couple of days

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a good location, a bit further away from Gion than I expected. The staff were very polite and we tried a few of their recommended restaurants which were all very good. Room was small with an unnecessarily large bed taking up all the available space it very quiet.
5 out of 5
by Taus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Excellent Location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Very nice hotel, with excellent staff. The location is the real selling point, as you can walk to a number of very cool spots, such as the Imperial Palace. Quite close to a metro station, so easy to get around, and easy access from the Shinkansen.