Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SG

Great location but nothing else worthy to mention

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Stains on sheets, pillows were dirty with visible hair stuck on them. Bathroom was usable, but only provided bath soap. Not recommended for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, UK

Disappointing

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: It was near the station. It was five minute walk ( as long as you came out of the correct exit of Kyoto Station)
Cons: Cramped room, cramped bathroom, cramped reception, tiny lift, noisy plumbing, thin walls so we heard our neighbours. The whole place was shabby.
Location: very close to transport which took you to tourist sights. Arashiyama Bamboo Grove and Okochi Sanso House and Garden - were particularly nice.
Cramped shabby room, although staff did their best to be helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to station. Kept clean.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Close to Kyoto station. Friendly! Cleaned our room well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynnwood, WA

Quick and easy to find.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Everything. It provided everything we needed, and then.
Location: A short walk from Kyoto Station, with a main department store in-between, and tons of smaller convenience shops.
Traveling with my 10yo daughter, I needed a hotel close to Kyoto Station, with AC, and a fridge. This place was compact, as one would expect, clean, with very comfortable tatami floors, and futons that were amazingly comfortable. I enjoyed the addition of a TV, so I could get a glimpse of what typical Japanese shows and commercials looked like. The gentleman at the desk was very helpful, with a photocopy prepped, showing guests the easiest way to the main streets, and when I inquired about a pharmacy to get some mosquito bite creme for my daughter, he not only directed us very clearly to the nearest, he pulled out two products of his own, and applied them to her arms and legs immediately. Very appreciated!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Hotel's not far from Kyoto Station and it's quite peaceful. Owner look friendly and kind.
Cons: The free wi-fi that mention, It's Kyoto station wi-fi that are in range, but I didn't test its connection cause I got my own.
Location: There's lot of convenient store nearby. Easy life.
Sleep on mattress feel good in ryokan style with private bathroom. Feel warm and cozy. I think the room is not good in sound-proof, but all guests are good people, so I find peaceful while staying here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

If Location Is Key Element When Choosing Hotel.

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Location and Cost.
Cons: Update hotel all around. Feels more like staying at someone's home then hotel. Also a shoe rack instead of just leaving shoes all around entrance.
Location: Near Kyoto JR Train Station. A couple bars near and Family Mart across the street.
This Ryokan is older and does not have all the amenities of many hotels in Kyoto. If location and price are key in your search for hotels then this one will do. It is situated very close to the Kyoto JR Train Station and its price is one of the lower ones with a private bathroom you will find. The rooms where clean but not new nor did they have a lot if any amenities. The staff is not great in English but are helpful and try there best. There is a Family Mart convenience store right across the street which was nice for any necessities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2016 on CheapTickets
Very near Kyoto Station, family mart, restaurants
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old hotel with simple devices.

Posted May 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Cost way more than it worth. The only advantage is closed to JR station.
2 out of 5
by BENJAMIN STEVEN

Plain and simple

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
The owner was a nice and friendly guy, but the room was a little ordinary. Still not bad if you're just after a place to sleep overnight.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels