Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Japanese style rooms.

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable stay, the room was large and spacious which gave us space to reorganize our luggage a little which was great. The futon beds are amazingly comfortable too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, though the hotel is abit old and need updating.
3 out of 5
by yoko from Whittier,Ca.U.S.A.

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
The room was clean and the staffs ware polite. I got small bag with tiny tooth brush,paste, soap and one time use shampoo and conditioner when I I checked in. I went the lobby to get another bag for the 2nd nights since no one replaced. There was no cup to rice my mouth. With the price of the room, I expected plenty of soap and shampoo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizone

Good location close to station and shops

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Wi-Fi
Location: Close to shopping, restaurants and station.
It may be the Kyoto way but the hotel is behind the times as far as Wi-Fi and modern day conveniences. The staff was helpful and courteous but it is not a good value for the money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 'gem' in Kyoto

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel location was excellent - 1 major street from Kyoto Station - easy walking distance even with luggage in tow. Reservation was for a japanese tatami-mat style room with separate bathroom. Must put out your own japanese-style bedding and some may find the sleeping surface to be a little hard, but this may add to the overall 'Japanese' experience. Great japanese style breakfast included in our reservation. Hotel front desk personnel were partially fluent in english and were very helpful when we requested directions to a handicraft museum in the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Easy access to kyoto sation

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location.
Location: Higashi Hongangji temple is right beside the hotel on the right side as you come out from hotel.
basic amenities, Need to collect hair dryer from hotel lobby counter. Hot water flask, cups and toiletries are also collected at lobby. Locarion good. Just behind kyoto tower which is opposite from kyoto station central gate.. There is a LAWSON STORE opposite hotel if need to get some instant food.
3 out of 5
by CHI WAI TEDDY from HONG KONG

REVIEWS

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
Fair Deal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Craig from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Convenient and cheap

Posted Apr 12, 2013
Pros: Great location, close to train station and lots of shops.
Cons: Comfort of the Japanese-style room was not great but all part of the Japanese experience I guess.
Location: 10 minutes walk from Kyoto station. 5 minutes walk from a huge 6 floor shopping mall and plenty of food and drink places nearby.
A nice hotel conveniently located only a 10 min walk from the Kyoto train station. We chose the Japanese style room which means tatami mats on the floor and no shoes worn in the room. Also, we had to sleep on futons on the floor rather than beds. In my opinion these were a little uncomfortable, but I guess it's all part of the Japanese experience. The Japanese style rooms were clean and tidy with minimal furniture. Just a short legged table with four floor-chairs (Japanese style) which weren't very comfortable (again, my cushy western upbringing shows). The staff spoke English well and were very helpful. They made restaurant and show bookings over the phone on our behalf (a feat that would have been nigh-on impossible with the very limited Japanese my friends and I spoke). I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on a budget.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a bad place

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed her when all of the other hotels were an outrageous price. I think there must have been some type of convention going on. We've stayed in Kyoto before for much less. The room wasn't bad aside from the fact that it was a smoking room. That smell never goes away. We got a kick out of sleeping on the tatami. This is more like a hostel with your own bathroom but we didn't really care.