Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Very nice ryokan style hotel with excellent servic

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Breakfasts
Cons: When we don't close the door between the bedroom and the shoes room while operating the bathroom fan, smoke from smoking area would seep into the room
Location: Walking distance to the bus and subway station. It is easier to find food at the bus or subway station.
Our taxi had trouble looking for this hotel. The reservation that I printed out did not show the hotel phone number. I forgot to look for it ahead of time liked I used too. If I had the phone number, the driver could enter it into his GPS, and it would show the address. Overall my husband and I were happy to experience the ryokan stay. Their Japanese breakfasts were unique and excellent! They do have juice, coffee, sausages, and pastries for peoples who like the Western breakfast instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great Breakfast!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
A traditional Japanese experience in a hotel like setting. Room had tatami mats, low table, kettle, small fridge, bottles of water each day, robe, toiletries, TV, green tea and a separate bathroom. The breakfast was delicious every morning with burners cooking fish and and boiling tofu on your table. Coffe, tea, juice, pickled Vegetables and other great items. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to leave our luggage on our check out day without any charge so that we could sight see before traveling to our next stop.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay in!!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location near subway station - easy access to nearby attractions.
Cons: Would be good to provide some breakfast variation :)
If you're just looking to experience a ryokan-styled hotel, this might just be the right place for you! The futon is too thin for me, so I stacked 2 futons to make myself comfortable. The pillow is nice though! Room is quite spacious compared to the previous hotels that I've stayed in, and the hotel is pretty close to the subway station (Kyotoshiyakusho-Mae), approx 4-6min walk. Breakfast is provided, but the menu is the same everyday - Bread, Scrambled eggs, Sausages, Japanese Curry, Rice and drinks (Apple/Orange juice, water)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple room but surprisingly spacious room.

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
For the price in center Kyoto it was very good. It's a futon in a closet that you place on the mat to sleep on. No complaints, but it was simple. The hallway was dirty and smelled of cigarettes. Breakfast was simple eggs and hot dogs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ulladulla NSW Aust.

Central Japanese style hotel room

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Wotif
Easy to find walking from station near City Hall. Comfortable facilities,breakfast Good. Very central close to transport. Due to hotel renovations we were looked after transferring us to a nearby accommodation. Nice!
3 out of 5
by goh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Scott from San Francisco, CA

Good Rooms in a Slightly Run Down Building

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel's exterior and its interior hallways seem quite outdated and not too welcoming, but our Japanese style room was fine. The traditional Japanese breakfast was very good. The hotel is a few subway stops and a ten minute walk from Kyoto Station, so it's pretty easy to get to. It's also possible to walk to the Kamo River and check out the small commemorative remains of an old canal and boat loading area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

True Japanese experience

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
We were keen on a traditional Japanese experience and that is exactly what we got! Nice clean and spacious rooms with a traditional japanese breakfast thrown in the deal. Excellent place to stay in a group. Note, if you expect luxury and european comfort - this is not for you. If you want a true Japanese experience, you will love it! :)