Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

観光がしやすい立地のいいホテル

Posted Jul 27, 2016
フロントも部屋もすごく綺麗で静か。 浴室も広い。 安いわりにはいいホテル。 京都にくるときはまたここを利用します。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Good Size Rooms for Family of Four

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: The staff was super friendly, and they spoke well enough English to communicate any questions/issues we had.
Cons: As is typical with many local Japanese hotels, you cannot check-in before 1500/3:00pm sharp and you have to pay extra if you want to check out late.
Location: Very convenient location near Yasaka Shrine and Gion area. Bus routes on main road near hotel, but a 7-8 minute walk to the subway/train.
This was a nice, but not great hotel in Kyoto. The location in Gion is good to walk to many sites. Bus stops close by and you can take the 100 Express or 206 to/from the Kyoto train station for 240 yen and which takes approx. 20 minutes. Subway is a 7-8 minutes walk. Many sites within walking distance. Rooms were clean and neat, and we were able to get a room for all four in our family with four separate beds. Staff is very nice, but they would not let us check-in early before 15:00 and wanted approx. 1000 yen per hour for a late check-out after 11:00. They will store your bags though for free. Kyoto hotels are expensive and this hotel was a decent deal, but still pricey. It does not offer a lounge nor does it have a lobby you would want to hang out in. The wifi worked well and was free. The beds were comfortable and linens were nice, Overall, I would say it is a good option for staying in Kyoto, but you may want to shop around for a better deal/location depending on what you want to see in Kyoto.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

기온거리 도보로 이용가능

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: 일본호텔중에서 화장실이 넓고 좋았음
Cons: 객실에 들어갔을때 약간 꿉꿉한 냄새가 났음
Location: 기온거리 도보5분
기온거리에서 위치 가깝고 주변이 조용하고 객실도 깨끗하였음 프런트 직원도 친절하였음 조식도 추가로 신청해서 먹었는데 무난하였음
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Super Nice Hotel

Posted May 22, 2016
This hotel was way beyond my expectations. It is perfectly located in the heart of Gion. The room is comfortable clean and the shower is huge. Breakfast is delicous. The staff is 7 Stars. They are super nice, super helpful. No words to describe how good were my 2 nights at this lovley hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: location
We stayed that in april 2016. The hotel was in great location like other reviews stated. Walking distance to Gion and many other tourist attractions. Staff was extremely nice and provided very good services. The check-in service was fast. The room was clean except the carpet felt dirty. The bathroom was so spacious and have an"onsen" share-bath feel. The bed was filmsy and mattress, pillow, and blanket not very comfortable. The room is pretty bare, you can tell that this was something put together quick for service. Due to the time we went was a high season, we paid like a 4/5 hotel stars price so thus I didn't think it was worth the money. If I only paid 3 stars price, then this hotel would completely meet my expectations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Nice, comfortable, hotel . Perfect location

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Location is excellent,very close to Gion , Higashiyama-ku and Pontocho
Location: Nearby a lot of restaurants, coffee shops, metro station
Comfortable hotel. Very friendly staff with a pretty good English. Close to main attractions in Gion , Higashiyama and Pontocho.
4 out of 5
by Oi Ling from Hong Kong

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location for most of the site-seeing & shopping place. However, it's disappointed that the hotel cannot assist to reserve Kyoto restaurants, which created trouble during my trip.
3 out of 5
by ofer

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
ok
5 out of 5
by John from Montrea

Highly recommended

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was a pleasure staying at the Sunline! It was clean, comfortable, well located, and after week felt like home. The staff were charming and helpful. Breakfast, while not offering the level of choice of a luxury hotel, was the best of our 3 week stay in Japan. Everything was good and delicious, and I would not want more. Breakfast was also fairly priced compared to luxury hotels which charge twice as much with no better quality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Meget rigid service ved indtjekning, receptionspersonalet meget dårlige til engelsk. Beliggenhed i Gion ideel.