Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Poor quality, overpriced hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Large bathroom.
Cons: Terrible beds, bad breakfast buffet.
We decided to extend our stay in Kyoto and this was the only place we could get that had a non-smoking room. Apparently for a reason. The staff was very nice, but this hotel has several serious problems. The first, and most serious problem is that the beds are absolutely terrible. We had stayed at a ryokan immediately prior, and these beds were a downgrade from literally sleeping on the floor. The second problem is the restaurant in the basement is really, really bad. They will try to sell you breakfast at the lobby desk, and the reason is that if you went down and saw the buffet yourself, you would never buy it. There were only two things that were good about the hotel: The bathrooms are quite large. The juice on the buffet was acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Great hotel. The staff was excellent, the hotel was very clean and the location was perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a super convenient location

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent guest service! Comfortable stay in a very clean hotel located in a super convenient area. Bathroom area was very huge, but perhaps can have a laundry rope for hanging laundry.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good area but odd bathroom

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very large shower room that took up 1/2 of the room. No storage for really anything in the room. Cheap for the area though.
5 out of 5
by Kevin from NYC

Great hotel in a great location of Kyoto

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel in a great part of Gion. The front desk was super friendly and the room and bathroom were both quite large. It was quiet, too. Loved this hotel and will be back.
5 out of 5
by Kevin from NYC

Clean/renovated Large Rooms in a Great Location

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Near alll the sites in Gion and near bus lines, 15min walk to subway. Quiet. Hotel room is big and bathroom is big with separate tub and shower. Free wifi was a bit slow. Free botttle of water a day. Staff helpful/friendly.
5 out of 5
by Les Leong

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel location is great to get around in Kyoto with all bus stops.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Good Size Rooms for Family of Four

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: The staff was super friendly, and they spoke well enough English to communicate any questions/issues we had.
Cons: As is typical with many local Japanese hotels, you cannot check-in before 1500/3:00pm sharp and you have to pay extra if you want to check out late.
Location: Very convenient location near Yasaka Shrine and Gion area. Bus routes on main road near hotel, but a 7-8 minute walk to the subway/train.
This was a nice, but not great hotel in Kyoto. The location in Gion is good to walk to many sites. Bus stops close by and you can take the 100 Express or 206 to/from the Kyoto train station for 240 yen and which takes approx. 20 minutes. Subway is a 7-8 minutes walk. Many sites within walking distance. Rooms were clean and neat, and we were able to get a room for all four in our family with four separate beds. Staff is very nice, but they would not let us check-in early before 15:00 and wanted approx. 1000 yen per hour for a late check-out after 11:00. They will store your bags though for free. Kyoto hotels are expensive and this hotel was a decent deal, but still pricey. It does not offer a lounge nor does it have a lobby you would want to hang out in. The wifi worked well and was free. The beds were comfortable and linens were nice, Overall, I would say it is a good option for staying in Kyoto, but you may want to shop around for a better deal/location depending on what you want to see in Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Super Nice Hotel

Posted May 22, 2016
This hotel was way beyond my expectations. It is perfectly located in the heart of Gion. The room is comfortable clean and the shower is huge. Breakfast is delicous. The staff is 7 Stars. They are super nice, super helpful. No words to describe how good were my 2 nights at this lovley hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: location
We stayed that in april 2016. The hotel was in great location like other reviews stated. Walking distance to Gion and many other tourist attractions. Staff was extremely nice and provided very good services. The check-in service was fast. The room was clean except the carpet felt dirty. The bathroom was so spacious and have an"onsen" share-bath feel. The bed was filmsy and mattress, pillow, and blanket not very comfortable. The room is pretty bare, you can tell that this was something put together quick for service. Due to the time we went was a high season, we paid like a 4/5 hotel stars price so thus I didn't think it was worth the money. If I only paid 3 stars price, then this hotel would completely meet my expectations.