Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cornwall UK

Convenient base for sightseeing

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Room cleanliness
Cons: Entrance lobby furniture a bit tired.
Location: We spent 9 days, could have filled 14 with so many sights and things to do in Otsu, and Kyoto.
Excellent room, kept spotless by cleaning staff. Remember reading reviewer's comment re Carpenters musak - still there. As you only hear it whilst using the restaurant, might not get to hear all the tracks! Direct access to Otsu JR station - 2 stops to Kyoto. Restaurant reasonably priced, good food well presented. Staff excellent, but don't expect any English, they have none, but we got by.
3 out of 5
by Ruka Y from Ras Tanura

So So, but Clean

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
Nothing special. Just Clean. Hotel staff did not look interested in helping customers. Good location but no great view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spacious for a business hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
I booked a semi-double room as it was all that was left. I was expecting a tiny room with no space to walk around the bed but was pleasantly surprised that the room was surprisingly large. The bed was ok for a semi-double as well. Bonus is that it is connected to the station so we didn't get we despite the typhoon.
1 out of 5
by Kariya from Shin Osaka, Japan

Room is too small, and it located 4th floor .

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
Very small, dark like basement, Hotel located 10miniute from station.
4 out of 5
by John K. from Berkeley, CA

Easy access to Kyoto

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
The Hotel Tetora Otsu Kyoto is a useful alternative for travelers who have problems finding lodging in Kyoto and/or want to stay close to the main rail lines (useful for those day trips to Nara, heading back out on the Shinkansen, etc). It is located right next to the Otsu station, a 9 minute train journey to/from Kyoto station on the Biwako Line. Trains run pretty frequently (5-15 minutes) during the day, but this drops off sharply in the late evening after 9pm so be sure you check the timetable/Hyperdia if you're out late. JR Rail Pass holders should note that the most convenient Otsu station exit (south) to get to the hotel is unmanned, so you must use the north exit and loop around the building. There is an underground passage immediately to the west of the station that will take you to the south side. The hotel will be the tall building in front when you emerge from the underground passage. Hotel is otherwise OK. Sensitive sleepers should note that train announcements from the station are faintly audible, in particular the chime preceding announcements.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by W/G from Vancouver, Canada

Close to Kyoto

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Location: Otsu does seem extremely quite and dark at night time. *Otsu is apparently a resort town, but we did not explore the surroundings.
Located above the Subway Exit. We were visiting during the Cherry Blossom Season, so we were unable to book a reservation at a hotel in Kyoto. Otsu is a short 2 Train stops away from Kyoto Station, and the trains leave frequently, until around midnight. The room was fine, but not exceptional. Since the Train tracks are located to the North of the building, you can hear the train sounds. The trains stop between 12-4:00AM, but promptly start up again. If you are staying here, it is best to be located on the South-facing side, to hopefully cut down on this sound. The restaurant food on the Main level is pretty good; we tried the Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner. The only oddity was the continual use of the music loop from the Carpenter's Best Hits recordings. This is the only music that they play throughout the day, and the music has stuck in my memory for 2 Weeks. Any other recordings, or no music would be preferred. The staff is nice, but speaks very little English. There is no Wi-fi available which leaves the small,old computer that is in proximity to reception. This keyboard is the most frustrating that we have ever encountered, because it often switches between english and Japanese, and so a quick message turns into an exercise in self-control. Otherwise, it was a good visit.
5 out of 5
by Roy S. from Hawaii

Wonderful Value 2 stops from Kyoto Station

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels
Near new facility, very clean, well maintained. The room was small, but clean. Bathroom functioned well. Breakfast was excellent japanese buffet in number of choices, presentation and quality and was not expensive. Main course changed daily. Excellent access, and elevator opens directly to the south entrance plaza for the JR Otsu station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Very close to the subways.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
The hotel staff was very friendly and although they didn't speak much English, they really tried to understand us and we were able to communicate enough. To get to the JR trains you need to walk through a short tunnel around the hotel which is not that inconvenient. It's about a short 2-3 block walk. There is a 7 eleven right outside the train station. The hotel room is a good size and you get a refrigerator in the room. Great location because it's close to the stations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zorica from Vancouver, Canada

Nice hotel in nice area

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Excellent position, clean rooms, friendly staff.
I've stayed in the Tetora Otsu for 5 nights in April and had really pleasant experience. Hotel is clean, right at the train station but quiet and comfortable. It takes only 10 minutes to reach Kyoto by the train that is covered by rail pass. Staff is friendly and despite their lack of English knowledge they've been trying hard to help and meet all our needs. They've kept apologizing for not understanding the English which was so nice of them considering that we should feel bad about not speaking their language.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel which was very reasonably priced.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
The hotel staff were very friendly, even with limited English. The only thing to be improved that I could think of would be to provide free wifi in the room, rather than through a LAN Ethernet port.