Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Japanese style hotel with character

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Nice for the experience of traditional Japanese accommodations and Japanese public bath. Futons were very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Retro hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Retro japanese hotel. The room we had was a traditional tatami room, which was a nice experience. Although they had an onsen, I don't think they used springwater and it was indoors and felt more just like a public bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul R.

very nice stay

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on HotelClub
Perfect location between the railway station and the temples. Simple but nice and clean rooms. Good breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County california

Onsen and Tatami Room - what's not to like?

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Ahhhh...a nice, hot onsen experience after a day of enjoying beautiful Kyoto. It's a slice of heaven. Tozankaku is super close to the bus stop (get the 500 yen all day bus pass and you'll be set). Its location is convenient to everything you will want to see in Kyoto. The breakfast buffet is so satisfying and tasty. The staff sets this hotel apart. They really male you feel at home. Love how clean the rooms are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from Orange County, CA

Good location and features

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Really like their large public bath/sauna. Great after a long day of sightseeing. The double stream of water that drops from the ceiling massages the back, shoulder, or head area like no other! Super close to the bus stop and the huge amount of sights to visit on the East side of Kyoto. All of Kyoto is really easy to access with the 500 yen all day bus pass. Clean, large tatami room. Comfy futons. Lots of teenagers/charter buses. But surprisingly quiet after about 9pm in our room. Wish wifi was in our room instead of just the large room off of the lobby. Tons of vending machines throughout. Huge souvenir shop with a nice selection of goodies. Extensive breakfast buffet which you can choose to add to your room charge. Very filling and convenient, but not necessary since there are so many food choices throughout Kyoto. Have stayed several times before and will keep coming back. Oh, and go to Ohara - it's amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big hotel, great location for sight seeing!

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Big spa
Cons: Have the phone you can make calls and free wifi in the room.
Location: Handy location, walking distance to Kiyomizudera, Sanjusangendou, few stops by bus to Gion area.
Big hotel and great location for sight seeing in Kyoto. I had a nice & clean Japanese style room all for myself at great rate including full breakfast! I loved the big spa, you can relax in the tub after a big walk sightseeing in Kyoto! Few down side were, it was always busy in the spa, (They had big piles of towels which was great) I couldn't make any calls from the phone in the room, I had to come down to use the public phone at the foyer which was annoying, also no wifi... Fridge in the room got locked up in the morning, I couldn't get my water bottle out! Other than that it was excellent! I will stay there again.
3 out of 5
by jnyyz from Toronto

convenient, but Japanese style room had no shower

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location. There are a lot of tour groups staying there because it is a good deal. We enjoyed staying in our Japanese style room, but our daughters were horrified that the room had no bath or shower. The only option was to use the public bath. As a result, they did not bathe for the duration of our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels
Six of us stayed in three twin 'western' rooms (which do have bath & shower). Small, but clean. 2 comfortble medium-hard beds, windows that open. We all slept well. Lots of veg available at breakfast! General location is good, and a nice temple across the street, but no evening action or 'happening' restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Staff speak English and gave us some help planning our itenerary.
4 out of 5
by ty from brisbane

good value

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels
Didn't cost much, so I didn't expect a grand hotel. We stayed in a traditional room which provided the experience we were after. The onsen was great and the breakfast was good quality. Great for a budget holiday to kyoto.