Ratings based on 1,187 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Albert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Spacious but needed a plummer

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Great room space and love the authentic futon style bedding but we had to change rooms due to toilet blockage. Other than that the experience was near perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manila, philippines

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Would like to return back to village kyoto. Superb location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ellen C.

Tatami room

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on HotelClub
The hotel is quite well, just we feel this is a bit expansive, but in return you get relatively bigger space. Just how big of a room so you need in Japan when you go out all day long
3 out of 5
by Eoin from Mayo, Ireland

Good

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
It's a 10 minute taxi ride from the train station. It's fine, not as great as it looks in the pictures on the website, but nice. It is cool to stay in what looks like a Japanese style room which is basically just a minimalist room. The public baths are a fun experience. I wish I had stayed in Kyoto longer, but I had a god time and this hotel was part of that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Nice Hotel in a Beautiful City

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: location is good and the staff
Cons: the breakfast
Location: good location near public transportation,
Its a really good hotel for what you pay. But attention its a total Japanese experience, really small room and sleeping over the floor or a futon bed. The included breakfast lets be honest better take your chances outside. the rest is ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem in Kyoto

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is a perfect mix of traditional and modern. The futon rooms where just as comfortable as western beds, just have to get use to being lower on the ground. The room was clean and the staff added tons of instructions in English for visiting westerners ( I could use the air conditioner with the use of Google Translate). The staff was very helpful and very friendly. The hotel is within easy access to the subway lines and if you are looking to only use a JR pass, Nijo station is only a 7 min walk way. I would definitely stay here again with my family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Outback Queensland

Traditional yet modern

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The staff spoke good English and the rooms were large. the futons were so comfortable to sleep on .
Cons: Nothing. we were very happy with our accommodation for the price
Location: We picked this hotel because it was somewhat close to the train station and restaurants.
We were travelling with two children so these traditional rooms were just perfect for all four of us and very spacious. we loved that our accommodation came with breakfast every morning and the facilities were great including the baths on level 1. We loved that we received bath robes, sandals and pyjamas to wear whilst there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Traditional Stay

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Location: Great shopping nearby (20 min walk) to the main shopping district in Kyoto.
Location in Kyoto was great, staff were approachable and friendly. Facilities were clean and comfortable to stay Recommend the great experience to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Let's Go To Kyoto!

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Clean and well kept. Definitely not luxurious, but you would be kidding yourself to expect that at this price range in Kyoto. enjoyable stay.
Cons: Nothing really. for the price it's a good budget hotel that has enough to complete your stay in Kyoto.
Location: A few blocks away from the main strip, but on the main road. Village Kyoto is close enough to walk to great shopping opportunities, or take the bus.
We had a nice stay at this hotel. It's clean and check in was a breeze with extremely helpful staff. The room was clean and neat. Breakfast options are extremely limited and i would strongly advise to find a cafe nearby and enjoy a nice start to the day. A lot of sightseeing can be done by just walking out the front door, turning left and walking all the way down the main road. The shopping is great so expect to be lured into the many shops along the way. Overall this hotel is good for the money. Sure there are hotels closer to the action but a nice stroll keeps the fat rolls melting away and gets you one step closer to obtaining a sizzling waistline, Which you will need to be able to fit into the smaller sizes that japan offers. Now I'm not saying that I'm fat, its just that my modelling days for Calvin Klein have vanished into a distant memory. Staying at this hotel in Kyoto and enjoying keeping up a regular walking routine has helped me get in shape, even if i was walking straight into one of the many great Japanese pastry shops and delighting myself by chomping down on a creme filled, chocolate coated mini croissant. Enjoy your stay here people, and while i can't provide any autographed posters of my modelling heyday, by staying at this hotel, you can say to your friends, "i think a Calvin Klein model stayed here". Enjoy your stay, NK