Ratings based on 1,189 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sfo

Basic, clean rooms

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Basic room, you have to make your own bed, no room service or restaurant onsite. Rooms were clean but dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Village Kyoto Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Village Kyoto and your review. It will be helpful for us to make our hotel better. We hope to serve you again.
5 out of 5
by Charito

The best hotel for tourists.

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Very good location. Near bus stops and train stations. Hotel staff are very helpful when you need to go anywhere in the area or when you ask them where to go in Kyoto. They provide complete maps. The hotel is very clean too. Breakfast is really Japanese. Oishi!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Village Kyoto. We are happy to hear you liked our hotel. It is really easy to get around Kyoto from here, so we hope you will visit here again and serve you again too. Village kyoto Manager
5 out of 5
by Carmen

Very Comfortable and Convenient Hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, clean and comfortable, with nice spa area and traditional tatami rooms. Breakfast is lovely delicious packed box.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at VillageKyoto. We are really grad to hear that you were satisfied room and Breakfast. We hope that you had great time in Kyoto. We are looking forward to serving you again. VillageKyoto CLK:Miyake
3 out of 5
by W K EDDIE

G9od for location

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
we found that the hotel location is convenient for sightseeing and shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice location, a jewel in Kyoto

Posted Dec 23, 2016
This is the 2nd time we came to Kyoto. We decided to stay somewhere not near Kyoto station. 1. Location This hotel is just 1-2 min walk from a subway station. Taxi Fare is about 1000Yen from Kyoto station to Village Kyoto. There are many nice restaurants near by. We went to 2 Japanese tapa places right above 7-11 (1-2 min walk), and the dishes were excellent and cheap (compared to Kyoto station area). FYI, there's a McDonald nearby as well. 2. Transportation Bus pass is sufficient enough for many places. 3. Hotel Japanese futon is awesome. It's big enough for family of 4. It's fairly clean as well. The hotel staffs are ok in English if you put questions in writing. Breakfast is served with cold Japanese bento. You can heat it with in-room microwave. 4. Overall We feel this hotel is relatively nice and cozy. It's not a big hotel like Hilton, but the traditional Japanese futon is a fun experience for the kids.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

one of the worst hotel Iever stay in Japan

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: nothing
Bad location, bad service, bad breadfast and you have to do your own bed, never never again staying here
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
I tought my room smells weird. Rooms were to small
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California, USA

Convenient hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was nice and close to Hankyu Omiya train station and Shijo-Omiya train station, which has a convenient train going directly to Arashiyama for the bamboo forest and monkey park and lots of other sightseeing in this beautiful town. The hotel was also conveniently walking distance from bus stations that could be taken to many sightseeing destinations that weren't too far. We enjoyed the double bed and pull out futons and the bento box breakfasts we were provided in the morning as well.