Ratings based on 1,180 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice location, a jewel in Kyoto

Posted Dec 23, 2016
This is the 2nd time we came to Kyoto. We decided to stay somewhere not near Kyoto station. 1. Location This hotel is just 1-2 min walk from a subway station. Taxi Fare is about 1000Yen from Kyoto station to Village Kyoto. There are many nice restaurants near by. We went to 2 Japanese tapa places right above 7-11 (1-2 min walk), and the dishes were excellent and cheap (compared to Kyoto station area). FYI, there's a McDonald nearby as well. 2. Transportation Bus pass is sufficient enough for many places. 3. Hotel Japanese futon is awesome. It's big enough for family of 4. It's fairly clean as well. The hotel staffs are ok in English if you put questions in writing. Breakfast is served with cold Japanese bento. You can heat it with in-room microwave. 4. Overall We feel this hotel is relatively nice and cozy. It's not a big hotel like Hilton, but the traditional Japanese futon is a fun experience for the kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

one of the worst hotel Iever stay in Japan

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: nothing
Bad location, bad service, bad breadfast and you have to do your own bed, never never again staying here
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
I tought my room smells weird. Rooms were to small
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California, USA

Convenient hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was nice and close to Hankyu Omiya train station and Shijo-Omiya train station, which has a convenient train going directly to Arashiyama for the bamboo forest and monkey park and lots of other sightseeing in this beautiful town. The hotel was also conveniently walking distance from bus stations that could be taken to many sightseeing destinations that weren't too far. We enjoyed the double bed and pull out futons and the bento box breakfasts we were provided in the morning as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to subway lines

Posted Jun 26, 2016
hotel staffs were friendly and rooms were clean and inviting. convenience store opp hotel. quite central to get to different attractions in kyoto.
4 out of 5
by Albert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Spacious but needed a plummer

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Great room space and love the authentic futon style bedding but we had to change rooms due to toilet blockage. Other than that the experience was near perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manila, philippines

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Would like to return back to village kyoto. Superb location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ellen C.

Tatami room

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on HotelClub
The hotel is quite well, just we feel this is a bit expansive, but in return you get relatively bigger space. Just how big of a room so you need in Japan when you go out all day long
3 out of 5
by Eoin from Mayo, Ireland

Good

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
It's a 10 minute taxi ride from the train station. It's fine, not as great as it looks in the pictures on the website, but nice. It is cool to stay in what looks like a Japanese style room which is basically just a minimalist room. The public baths are a fun experience. I wish I had stayed in Kyoto longer, but I had a god time and this hotel was part of that.