Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Comfortable

Posted Dec 16, 2016
We had a pleasant stay. The room was a good size and we enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Close to the local train station which was handy to get to downtown Kyoto and within a 10 min taxi ride to Kyoto Station. Easy walk to Kiyomizu-dera temple and Fushimi Inari Shrine. The gym equipment was a little bit dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in Kyoto

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: location was excellent, spa was great, staff was very friendly, room service was great, multiple restaurants, very close to some amazing temples, convenient bus, subway, and this access to kyoto
Cons: nothing, would stay here again without question, probably the second day nicest hotel in town 2nd only to new 4 seasons, I wouldn't change a thing, it won't let me submit for some reason keeps asking me to write more............
Location: walking distance to great temples at sanjusangendo and Kiyomizu-dera, short train or taxi to fushimi inari, easy walk or bus into main kyoto shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Fantastic service and breakfast! Loved every part of staying here. English speaking staff and a wonderful Geisha performance very night in the lobby. Outstanding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Great location . Very attentive staff . Yummy breakfast ..
From the beginning to the end it was a great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a lovely stay in a beautiful room.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Everything, especially the staff.
Cons: Its location.
Location: Noted.
The only hiccup in this experience is that there was no in-house coffee provided or cups to drink it in. When mentioned to staff, this was remedied in an extraordinary and wonderful way. The only criticism I have is that the mirror on the wall as one comes out of the bath/shower in in the wrong place. If one exits the facility without clothes, one can see this from the room's other spaces. This is a wonderful place to stay in Kyoto, but its location is somewhat of a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Excellent, welcoming service

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Excellent service and location
The service from these folks from the moment we arrived was excellent - caring, friendly and did all/anything to make the stay pleasant. We had many questions/requests which were all answered immediately and with a smile. English was well understood and spoken. The front desk/concierge were extremely helpful. I thought they went well out of their way to please and no additional charges for any of the extra requests (which was NOT the case at some of the other Japanese hotels we stayed at). The food catered to both Asian and western likes and was tasty - variety was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was expecting more for price paid

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Room
Location: Right next to temple and bus stop that takes you to kyoto station.
Great staff, room felt stiflingly small, good amenities but we were expecting a much better experience for the amount of $ paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Amazing hotel. We had a great stay. Very clean and helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Good location once u figure it out

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The suite we stayed is a beautiful mixture of Japanese & western culture. Face to a Japanese garden with all the green views. It is a truly escape from tourst kyoto. The staff speaks a good English & very friendly. Be sure to ask for a tree view room, then u can relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fabulous interiors, convenient and sophisticated

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Interiors which we sleek, modern, clean and sophisticated. Lovely staff who looked after our stay during breakfast, and meals.
Cons: Hard to say oh we forgot our umbrella upon checkout so perhaps a friendly reminder once someone checks out to remind them to collect their umbrella.
Location: Art and famous old town of kyoto
Lovely warm staff and immaculate room setting with beautiful interiors. We stayed for 3 nights for our first trip to Kyoto and welcomed warmly with friendly detailed-oriented staff. We had a luxury room and were conveniently able to transit through train and bus (both a short 10 min walk away) around Kyoto. Based in the uptown area close to the famous ninzenza steps of old town Kyoto there are plenty of dinning options in the hotel and close by.