Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good and quiet location.

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More water given in the room
Location: Good eating places along the river. Try chao chao gyoza.. Buy brushes at the little brush store near Sanjo bridge.
This ryokan was a good place to base for our five nights in Kyoto. It is a block from the entry to the river which is the best route to walk to Gion. It is also close to Imperial Palace and not far from good shopping. The hotel is old, so rooms not fresh looking. Staff at front desk very nice and helpful. The room cleaning staff though seemed a bit rude when we set out the futons ourselves to take an afternoon nap as we were jetlagged. After we did this, the next day they hid the futons. And then when we found the futons and took a nap again, they moved the table to the center of the room to block us from pulling out the futon again. Of course we still moved the table to be able to rest after a full morning of touring. We had come from Canada and were not onky adjusting go 13 hourstime difference but also to the 25C heat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Traditional

Posted Apr 14, 2017
A traditional Ryokan, with friendly staff, in the northern part of Kyoto, you can (long) walk to many of the northern sights. The onsen facility is quite basic. Taxi from station cost ¥1600. The are many restaurants and 7-11 store within close walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

It is oversold

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Overall the place is just dingy and very tired. It sells itself as authentic but the bathroom was in need of a major overhaul. Just too expensive. Don't stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

the hotel is actually in the middle of nowhere

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Hospitality, cleanliness.
Location: See above
There are no restaurants just dingy joints in the area. It says Central Kyoto, so we expected more liveliness. The liveliness came from avoiding bicycles riding on the sidewalk without lights. Almost got hit by one. Horrible evening when we had high expectations of "kyoto happening". The hotel first denied that we had booking with them. THe owner or some jerk stopped us on the street and claimed we had no room booked. Apparently they were mostly booked by a Chinese group and we were "round eyes" from America. Then he allowed us into the lobby where the clerk found our reservations. Would recommend the place only to my enemies, not friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

The best hotel for our Japan Trip

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
The stay gave us a great experience of Japanese living style. We enjoy very much the cleanness and a high standard of service by the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OR

Old but comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Relatively close to places you want to go. Use 1 day bus pass.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Reasonable ryokan experience

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Great ryokan experience! Room and facility is clean except bathroom and lobby furniture needs updating. We were assigned one of the rooms on the 4th floor. Supposed to be a non smoking room/floor but the toilet smells like cigarettes coming from the vent! Smoke smell was awful caused us to be so nauseated after using the toilet. Reported it to the front desk during check out but I don't know if they'll do anything about it.
5 out of 5
by hasan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by J&K from Australia

Traditional style with good service

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyable