Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bavaria, Germany

Beautiful and quiet Ryokan in Kyoto

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Wow. What a beautiful Ryokan located in what seems to be the backyard of temple. Located in a quiet park, this Ryokan provides a quiet area to retreat from the city of Kyoto, yet only a short walk away from all of the sites. The room was setup as expected, and I was allowed early check in with hot tea awaiting me in my traiditional room. I must admit, I had spent most of my nights in Japan as a backpacker, staying in hostels, AirBnBs, and overnight buses but I wanted to experience a traditional Japanese ryokan at least one night. I must admit that after staying at Yoshimizu, I regretted not staying there for more of my time in Kyoto. The staff was very kind and willing to help me chase down all of the sites to see in the city as well as provide tips for local onsens, temples, and other points of interests off the touristy beaten path. After having such a great time in the city, I lost track of time and was out later than allowed (they lock the doors at 11pm) but with a short phone call they allowed my late return. I also was able to keep my larger travel bag at the Inn as I explored my last day in the city and upon pickup, was invited in again after a cold day and was offered hot tea and a light snack before my departure. Japanese culture and hospitality truly lives in this ryokan, from the location, the traditional style, to the kind and accomdating staff. I cannot wait to return to this return to this ryokan someday and highly recommend it to anyone looking to visit Kyoto
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

PerfectTraditional Japanese experience you want!

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: -authentic atmosphere -felt safe and clean -quite and serene -wifi -family friendly & perfect for couples -staff was outstanding!
Cons: I would still rate this as a 10 on everything!
Location: If you want to have a historical & once in a lifetime Japanese experience stay here , perfectly situated in the gion area. Take tours!
The Inn was nothing short of amazing ! as an American it truly gave me the authentic Kyoto atmosphere I wanted! I was so pleased with every aspect of my experience! I would do it all over again 10 times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Cozy ryokan in Maruyama Park

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: The staff were so friendly and kind. Very hospitable!
Location: The ryokan is up a hill in Maruyama Park. There is Yasaka Shrine, Chion-in, Sannenzaka, Ninenzaka, Kiyomizudera, and quite a few other sights close by
I had a very pleasant three night stay here while in Kyoto. The ryokan staff were so kind and knowledgeable, and helped mark interesting points on a guide map (that they provided) during check-in. Communication was no issue as all of the staff spoke English. The facilities were clean and breakfast was simple, but hearty. The ryokan is up a hill in Maruyama Park but it is close to some very famous sights (Yasaka Shrine, Kiyomizudera, Sannenzaka, Ninnenzaka, Chion-in, etc.) It is a 20 minute walk to Gion, the geisha district. I saw quite a few Maiko (apprentice geisha) on my trip. The rooms are tatami rooms, so they are fairly small for Western standards, but it was quite cozy. You will have to set up your futons yourself, and they provide a Yukata for you during your stay.
5 out of 5
by Louis from British Columbia, Canada

Cannot say enough good things about this place.

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
I've never written a review for any hotel before, but I have to make an exception for this ryokan. This was by far, with no exceptions, the most enjoyable stay I have ever had anywhere. The staff who run the place make the phrase "going the extra mile" seem like a huge understatement. Always giving us tea, making sure we were comfortable, making sure we knew where we were going and giving us maps and directions every day, making amazing breakfasts for us, holding our bags for us after we checked out so we could go explore some more, and so much more. This alone would have been enough to make the stay there worthwhile, but I could not believe my eyes when I saw where the inn is located. Literally next door to the lion's share of Kyoto's major attractions in Southern Higashiyama, and in a park containing the amazing yasaka-jinga Shinto shrine. Two major subway stops right nearby connect you very easily to anywhere else you could possibly want to go in the city, as well as Nara, Osaka, and mount Kurama. As a bonus, the Main Street in the Gion district is about a 5 minutes walk away through the park (and there was a super fun all you can drink karaoke place for 1500 yen per person next to the Tullys coffee store!). My wife and I have no regrets whatsoever about staying here, and it was the highlight of our trip.
3 out of 5
by HSI-HUNG

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol uk

Excellent and unique experience

Posted Jan 6, 2016
We stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. Although the taxi driver didn't initially know where it was, he was able to call the inn to clarify. Check in was smooth and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The location is excellent, in a parkland setting but also good walking distance to gion shopping area. The Japanese room was superb and the building in general is extremely charming. Although it was cold outside the room was warm courtesy of a heater and electric blanket. Breakfast is good and again the staff are friendly and helpful. The only slight negative was a noisy toddler, as the walls are literally paper thin. We genuinely loved this place and highly recommend it to others. The building, setting and the staff were superb!
5 out of 5
by Andrew WaiMen

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was very nice and we had a wonderful stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Wonderful experience. Exactly what I was looking for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Serene and picturesque

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Really clean place, great staff-very warm and kind. This guesthouse is located in a serene and picturesque park, surrounded by temples and shrines. It is a pleasant 15-minute downhill walk to the central part of town. Quick taxi ride from the Kyoto Station (about $10-15).