Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

central location but noisy

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: breakfast was amazing and the location was very central. We had a large room.
Cons: Some of the rooms smelled of smoke. We asked for rooms along the river but were given rooms along the street. Very noisy.
Location: great location. next to Starbucks and the river and close to the subway. Great food options just down the street.
we loved the location, room size and cleanliness, and breakfast. Amenities were a bit outdated but clean. Our biggest complaint was street noise as large groups of young people gathered across the street every night and were partying into the wee hours of the morning.
4 out of 5
by Renelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of Kyoto, easy access to everywhere

Posted Aug 17, 2015
This is a nice Ryokan near the center of Kyoto, the river nearby is beautiful and their is an amazing ally full of restaurants less than 4 minutes walk away. Using buses and trains/subways you can get to nearly any part of Kyoto in less than 30 minutes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice location with comfortable room

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Location: prime area, close to shopping area and also supermarket.
easy to find, nice location near prime shopping area, very comfortable room, we (family of 2 parents & 4 children) have a very very precious moment here. Especially very kind antie staff. Next time, if we plan to go to Kyoto, we will stay here again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
We had a terrific stay at this hotel and enjoyed the traditional Japanese character of the rooms, service, and breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Victor from USA

Japanese style hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Great experience at a ryokan (Japanese style hotel). The hotel was conveniently located near the river, with a wide range of restaurants near by. The traditional Japanese breakfast was a plus. The room was very spacious with a view of the river. Very clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by peck from USA

Located along a strret of shops &restaurants..

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
Front desk sole a little English.
4 out of 5
by Robert Glaister from Canada

Very good hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel lived up to its expectations. Good room, good breakfast, good service and excellent location. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, great service, beautiful rooms

Posted Apr 5, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent location for places to eat & catching the subway. Comfortable, traditional rooms, private bathrooms are a nice-to-have. Service friendly and efficient, apart from not being able to break a 10,000 Yen note for me in reception to pay our cab driver - that seemed silly.