Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Very comfortable and quiet hotel, well located.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: A good place to unwind from long journey for a couple of days.
Cons: Gym facility would be a plus and some form of cafe with much longer hours of opening.
Location: See above, location we liked, with Imperial Palace the highlight.
The hotel is in a residential area, 5 minutes from the Imperial Palace gardens. The plus is quiet and great walks, only downside no Starbucks close-and no action on hotel food or coffee front until 0700! The hotel is within easy walking of many interesting places in town. Staff friendly. No gym in hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

It was a spacious room, incredible staff.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Spacious room, incredible staff, and everything was done really well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Very comfortable and very good service

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Nice place and close to the town with shuttle bus. Very good food and variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

A 5 stars hotel with 5 stars services.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Clean, quite and the room is big enough for a family of 4, like us. The green tea provided for us is a good experience. Don't miss out the candy too.
Cons: May be a shuttle bus services between Kyoto Station. But it will affect the earning of the taxi drivers, actually they provide very good services.
Location: The location is not perfect. It locates between 2 subway stations. So we have to take Taxi to and from the Kyoto Station and it costs money.
The Chinese restaurant in the hotel is wonderful. The food and services are worth for money. We are very happy about the bathroom (big shower head and toilet seat !). The staff can speak reasonable good English and always have smiling faces.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Ideal location as it's just outside CBD.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Staff are knowledgeable and gives excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Gosho & Doshisha university.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Breakfast was included in the rate and we enjoyed both western style & Japanese one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Ca

Warm and extremely helpful hotel staff

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The staff at this hotel was amazing. From the moment you step off the shuttle bus you were greeted by genuinely friendly staff. They were patient and helped us get from location to location. What was most useful were the small 5x7 yellow cards at the concierge desk that had detailed directions and costs by bus or taxi etc to the major attractions. That took a great anxiety out of your daily travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Kyoto visit

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The rooms were extremely comfortable and well appointed.
Location: This hotel was in a quite area yet fairly close to transportation, the Imperial Palace and Nijo castle. Kyoto station was about 3 miles away.
We visited a family member in Kyoto. We have stayed in 4 or 5 different hotels in Kyoto and this was by far my favorite. I would highly recommend - it's worth the taxi ride with luggage from Kyoto station (about 3 miles.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Great Staff but Overpriced Breakfast

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Staff and room
Cons: Breakfast price, quality of wine in the bar (per glass)
Lovely hotel and generally good value for money, Taxis are always available, staff were willing to help us with restaurant reservations etc. The only let down was the overpriced in-house breakfasts. Overall I recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and old

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Dated hotel; English language barriers; Rooms require updating to cater to cater for younger and middle aged individuals. It currently caters for elderly people. Breakfast service is 2 stars