Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super nice hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
This hotel is really luxurious. We have a room that accommodates our family of 4. We each have our own beds, and still have enough room for our luggage. They placed out tea set for us to use and make matcha ourselves. Also supplied us with all kinds of different tea bags. Beds are clean and comfortable. The only thing is that the hotel is not close to a train station, the walk is about 10-15 mins. They have a free shuttle service to and from the Karasuma Oike subway station Exit #1, but I didn't know when I first arrived at Kyoto. The shuttle is blue is color, I think. From Karasuma Oike starts at 8:20 then every 20 mins until 21.40. From Hotel, it's 8:10 then every 20 mins till 21:30 pm when I was there. There are no signage boards outside exit #1 due to public regulations and the buses are very on time, so if you are late for 1 min, you pretty much have to wait. A tip: I didn't realize that the taxis are not that expensive. When you travel at night, there is no traffic, it is very cheap to travel to the hotel by taxi, since the time taken to travel is minimized. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel but make sure you also would keep a budget for taking the taxi, esp when it's so hot during the summer!! They have sheets of paper at a counter near the check-in which tells you how to go to different places from the hotel. It lists directions, and transportation available. I used Google map though with my data plans, it's pretty accurate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 神奈川県

Posted Aug 15, 2016
部屋がきれい。周辺はあまり店がなく、バス停も距離がある。歩くのがつらい夏場はシャトルバスをフル活用。便利でした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pompano Beach, FL

Above average hotel in quiet residential area.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The Brighton aspires to be a luxury hotel. The lobby area is beautiful and is a pleasant respite after a day of sightseeing. Rooms are clean, comfortable and stocked with amenities, but lack the style one expects in a luxury hotel. Desk staff is helpful, but English is limited. No concierge services available. There are several restaurant choices. We sampled the Chinese cuisine which was lackluster. There are better local options in the area. Expect big city prices for food and drink without a high level of service. Solid 3.5-4 star.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but a bit offset.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Very nice hotel. Spacious room, recently renovated, beautiful and clean. No gym however. Also, if you want to eat at the hotel, be aware that it is EXPENSIVE!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

隠れ家的だけど高級感ばっちり

Posted Aug 11, 2016
  設備、サービスとも申し分ないし、朝食バイキングも手抜きなし。  観光地京都の誇りを感じられるホテル。  お手頃価格で泊まれたので、コスパは最高でした。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Schl.-Holstein

sehr gutes Stadthotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Das Hotel macht einen modernen Eindruck. Tolle Lobby mit Bar. Sehr freundliches Personal. Sehr guter Shuttle Service in 10 min direkt ins ( alle 20 min ). In jedem Fall empfehlenswert.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
京都市内でも御所のすぐ西側の静かな住宅街に立地していてとても休まります。ホテルのシャトルバスが烏丸御池まで往復しているので、とても便利です。お部屋はとても広くて、快適でした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

良くも悪くも『ちょっといいホテル』

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: 部屋の清潔度
部屋:清潔感があり、快適。目立ったアメニティの良さなどは無いが、すべて平均以上。 レストラン:和朝食が有名ではあるが、洋朝食はブッフェ。品目も少なく、こちらはコスパが悪い。      (これで3000円以上取るの?という感じ) 周辺環境:ホテルの周りは住宅も多くひっそりとしている。コンビニなど便利な場所ではない。 部屋数もそれほど多くなく、全体感としてまとまっていて、きれいな環境であるが、 特筆するものが無いというのが率直な感想。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable hotel and near many tourist sites

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: It was near a lot of visitors sites yet very peaceful and the lobby is impressive. even getting around with the bus was very easy and convenient.
Cons: The information for getting to places could be printed so that they did not have to give so much explanation how to get to one place & another.
Location: Imperial palace, Ni mojo castle and many temples were nearby.
We were very surprised with a beautiful upgraded room. The taxi was always at the door.Staff was helpful and very courteous. We had an excellent stay. There was a shuttle bus to the hotel but the information on the website must be more precise because there are many exits at the subway!!! But the moment we found the shuttle, we were very well taken cared for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spacious room

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Like free parking, spacious rooms and Cantonese-speaking staff. Would be nice if there are more barrier-free access facilities. It's a bit inconvenient to carry our luggage to the car park.