Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Gosho & Doshisha university.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Breakfast was included in the rate and we enjoyed both western style & Japanese one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Ca

Warm and extremely helpful hotel staff

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The staff at this hotel was amazing. From the moment you step off the shuttle bus you were greeted by genuinely friendly staff. They were patient and helped us get from location to location. What was most useful were the small 5x7 yellow cards at the concierge desk that had detailed directions and costs by bus or taxi etc to the major attractions. That took a great anxiety out of your daily travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Kyoto visit

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The rooms were extremely comfortable and well appointed.
Location: This hotel was in a quite area yet fairly close to transportation, the Imperial Palace and Nijo castle. Kyoto station was about 3 miles away.
We visited a family member in Kyoto. We have stayed in 4 or 5 different hotels in Kyoto and this was by far my favorite. I would highly recommend - it's worth the taxi ride with luggage from Kyoto station (about 3 miles.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Great Staff but Overpriced Breakfast

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Staff and room
Cons: Breakfast price, quality of wine in the bar (per glass)
Lovely hotel and generally good value for money, Taxis are always available, staff were willing to help us with restaurant reservations etc. The only let down was the overpriced in-house breakfasts. Overall I recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Ok hotel far from everything

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Was given only one key card. Forgot in the room. Got an extra one but was warned that it would cost 1,000 yen if lost. It's just an ordinary plastic key card. Found used Kleenex by the bed. Desk was dirty when checked in. Far from everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly service, nice rooms with nice bathrooms, taxis always available at the front door
Cons: The location is a bit out of the way. We ended up taking taxis to everything except the Imperial Palace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very good but read the review.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Upscale. Clean and quiet.
Cons: Have a good alternative option for food
Location: They have a shuttle bus that runs every 20 minutes to downtown which was great.
We ended up booking Brighton as we did a 3 day tour of Kyoto but didn't want to stay at the hotel connected with it. We booked here and it was very nice. Clean, quiet, and upscale. We used the hotel as a basecamp. They have a shuttle to downtown that runs every 20 minutes and we used that several times. We were able to go to incredible dinners, see The Bamboo Forest, The Snow Monkeys etc. The reason I mentioned the concierge is that I made a bad mathematical error in a purchase in a shop downtown. What I thought was $360 was actually $3600! I didn't realize it till I got back to the hotel and the purchase came up on my phone (I have alerts set up). So I immediately went to the concierge and she got on the phone with the shop right away. They agreed to allow me to return it if I went back to the shop right away. Non refundable the next day. I grabbed a taxi and went back and the return and credit to our CC was immediate and all was good. The reason I rated the hotel overall a little lower is that the food there is extremely expensive if breakfast is not included ($70 for 2 for breakfast and $330 for dinner in the special Japanese steak house in the hotel). Also when we were checking out, I went up to the desk and told them we are checking out. the gentleman asked for my room key. I told him I left it in the room and he didn't look happy. He then asked my husband for his room key which was odd as we were together. He looked mad. Overall good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Quiet hotel near the palace. The rooms are nicely decorated and the staff are very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel, first class experience

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Beautifully decorated, super clean, great service, everything you need.
Cons: No improvements needed...everything was perfect.
Location: Being in Kyoto, there's no end of amazing things to see and restaurants everywhere.
Very clean and cool hotel, nicely decorated with everything you could want in a room. Super comfortable, quiet, with cool shower and comfortable beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Good value and great location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel was flexible and family friendly.