Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Good value and location. Rooms especially the bathrooms a little too small to be very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Wi fi system not working but managment chaged room

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Wifi network connectivity, which was lousy
Wifi was not working in the 1st room. After complaining and arguing with Hotel management, they put us in an upgraded room, with wifi. Management team solved the problem, but facilities were disappointing, since wifi did not work properly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to train subway but small rooms.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Close to subways.
The rooms are tiny. Hardly any space to move around. Good only for sleeping.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

2 star experience

Posted Apr 24, 2016
The staff was very nice but the hotel is very outdated, with old amenities and tiny rooms. Good for one night stay, if you are just passing by. Also, the location is not that great, unless you care about being close to the Imperial Palace. Otherwise it is too far to Gion, downtown and other attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim CA

Central location and nice accomodations

Posted Oct 30, 2015
The hotel was easily accessible by subway and near many tourist locations. The room was very compact but adequate. The staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

No restaurant...Rooms VERY SMALL

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: lobby had computers for use
Cons: For the price,$100.00 was okay...
Location: close to subway
average hotel. Did not realize the distance to Kyoto Sta...Did nor specify Subway transport, assumed 10 min Walking...Have to be more specific and say by SUBWAY...NOT WAlking distance..Somewhat very ague in its write up
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2015
The room needs upgrades, room is a bit dirty! Room is extremely small, it is an inn for a single person, obviously not couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, UK

Nice place for a quick break

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Location for tourist spots, shopping and some fantastic restaurants. Friendly staff, comfortable bed.
Cons: The climate control in the rooms is a little dated. Bathrooms are a little cramped
Location: Easy reach of Kyoto Station, well placed for the Imperial and Nijo Castle, Kyoto covered markets, Manga Museum and the geisha quarter of Gion.
We stopped at Kyoto Garden Hotel on our city hopping tour of Japan and stayed for 5 nights. The Hotel is easy to reach from Kyoto Station and very easy to spot with its front gate and pleasingly well maintained plants. At first we were not sure if the hotel had wifi but after a quick check with the staff (who understood sufficient English to fulfill our requests) we got the password to log in. Overall the room was comfortable and very clean. It was hitting 37 degrees C in Kyoto when we visited and the room's a/c system was a little daunting but the cleaner was kind enough to set it for us on our second day. A nice feature in our room was the large shelf over the a/c unit as this was a great space to stash luggage and shopping. Another nice touch on the hotels Green ethos was it only provides disposable toothbrush kits in the bathroom but you could collect any number of other toiletries (hairbrush, razor etc) from reception - thereby reducing waste because hotels have to throw away anything left behind. On the topic of the bathroom, yes it was very small and will necessitate some 'toilet tetris' if you're over 6 feet tall. There's a vending machine at reception for cold water and soft drinks and as with many Japanese hotels a mini fridge was provided in the room. We didn't get to sample the breakfast as we started a little late each day but would definitely consider this hotel again for our next visit to Kyoto as there's still a lot that we didn't see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Convenient, quiet, clean and bargain-priced

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Conventient, quiet, clean. Firm bed with daily change of linen. Plenty of shampoo, conditioner, body wash.
Cons: The attached restaurant only gets a C grade. Since we could not read menus of places we passed, it would be helpful if staff had recommendations.
Location: Take subway or Bus 15 to the Gion for typical but interesting tourist shopping, and make sure to explore back streets and alleys. Walk to Nijo Castle.
Great central location, with the added bonus of being on a quiet side street. Budget-saving pricing, but still offers a 24-hr. front desk staff, very hard-working maids, and nice firm beds. The room isn't big, but for this location, it's typical and satisfactory. There are loads of small eating spots within walking distance. Subway, bus and convenience marts steps away. We stayed here 10 days in Spring 2015 and will happily stay here next time we're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Nice location

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: It was well located
Cons: I really don't like when the bathrooms are a box!
Location: The city is so close!
English speaking staff, nice location and ok rooms. The rooms were a bit to heated, but we were able to open the window.