Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Hotel has a lovely pond and onsen. Near to several temples and train station. Great place.
Comment from EPC
Aug 22, 2015 by Masafumi OKUDA, EPC
Thank you for staying at Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo the other day. We make your review and picture help of the improvement in the future. It is all about the guests! "KAIZEN"continuous improvement!! We are waiting for your next stay. Thank you. Best regards, Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff, very good experience

Posted Jul 31, 2015
I have stayed in much fancier and more expensive ryokans in Kyoto and this is just as charming with probably a nicer and more family friendly staff than the others. I highly recommend it. After 3 days it felt like home.
Comment from EPC
Aug 22, 2015 by Takuya SATO, EPC
Dear Thank you for staying at Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo the other day. We make your review and picture help of the improvement in the future. It is all about the guests! "KAIZEN"continuous improvement!! We are waiting for your next stay. Thank you. Best regards, Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

An experience but don't stay too long.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
It's a decent Ryokan but I've seen better. If you are in Kyoto, you have to try the Ryokan experience at least once, just don't expect it to be comfortable. Yachiyo staff are very friendly and helpful, their English is very good. The rooms are old but give you the real experience of been in a Ryokan but expect to have the heater on and little sleep because it gets cold and sleeping on the ground doesn't help. Overall if you are looking to stay a few nights in a mid range Ryokan than this is for you, otherwise lash out and pay for a room at one of the luxury Ryokans.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Takuya Sato, Hotel Management
Dear Mick San, Thank you for staying at Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo the other day. We make your review and picture help of the improvement in the future. It is all about the guests! "KAIZEN"continuous improvement!! We are waiting for your next stay. Thank you. Best regards, Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Family trip

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Stayed here with daughters 20 & 23. We loved the tranquility, the challenge of the onsen and sleeping on tatami mats. The ryokan was mostly original condition so easy to imagine life in an earlier time. I would highly recommend this as an experience not to be missed
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by OKINAGA, Hotel Management
Dear Squashybeetle San Thank you for staying at Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo the other day. We make your review and picture help of the improvement in the future. It is all about the guests! "KAIZEN"continuous improvement!! We are waiting for your next stay. Thank you. Best regards, Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valbonne

Excellent Kyoto experience

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Excellent service, clean, high quality. The onsen inside the hotel was a tremendous experience. It is very good situated closed to temples and Gion. We took one of the free bicycles from the hotel to visit the area. Totally recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Ok for a night

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Staff were very welcoming but atmosphere overall was a little odd. Onsen was available all day which was good but it was out of town and the rooms felt old and a little tired. Not bad for a night and seemed like quite an authentic place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gina from Los Angeles

Great Location

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels
could not have landed in a better place - the location is amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice Ryokan

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels
This Ryokan is a little on the expensive side but is well located in a more rural part of Kyoto. Easily accessible from the Keage Tube station and well located from Kyoto Municipal Zoo and Heian Shrine. We enjoyed a Japanese style breakfast in the restaurant area but were a little disappointed not to have an evening meal - make sure to check with the Ryokan when checking in as reservations had to be made very early in order to prepare the elaborate Japanese meal. It summary this was a good Ryokan experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by architect from singapore

Great ryokan experience

Posted May 4, 2014
-Beautuful ocation near temples -interesting walk to Town and interesting shops lessen the duration
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Noémie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels