Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Authentic Japanese Ryokan experience

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Your paying for the experience. My family of four really enjoyed the full Japanese Ryokan experience. The meals were wonderful. The staff was extremely welcoming and attentive. The baths were also much appreciated after long days visiting the local temples. Finally the location was immediately along the main path past many of the most notable local temples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Good ryokan experience in Kyoto

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Ryokan surround by beautiful garden and pond, if you are looking for a place to have ryokan experience this is it! Super comfy futon bed and soft tatami, but one thing that i doesnt like about the ryokan is they don't have toilet seat heater so you have to kind of bare it especially when it comes to the winter weather. The staffs are also very friendly and speak english well. Their keiseki dinner is very delicious and not to be missed! Good location for a short stay in Kyoto!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Amazing traditional ryokan in Kyoto

Posted Dec 17, 2016
My husband and I booked one night here and would have stayed longer had they had any more availability. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. We purchased the traditional dinner and breakfast and couldn't have been more pleased. It was one of the best meals we had while visiting Japan. Wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice simple Ryokan

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
This ryokan is very close to Nanzenji so it is quite easy to find. It's very close to Keage subway but the bus stop (no.5) is not too close to the ryokan. Overall I had a pleasant stay but I found a few service deficiencies which did not correspond to the price paid for example hotel staff were unaware half board included breakfast, I was told I needed to take dinner at the restaurant despite sending an email to request to dine in the room and receiving confirmation of my request - it was subsequently agreed we could take dinner in the room. However I felt that the staff subsequently made it very obvious they felt it was an inconvenience by repeating asking if I would take dinner at the restaurant and also huffing and puffing when i reiterated my request. I found this service quite unprofessional especially given I had pre- requested and also received confirmation from the ryokan in advance. On the positive the ryokan has a nice hot bath ( note not onsen) to relieve tired legs and the Japanese breakfast was very abundant. The kaiseki dinner was fairly good but nothing spectacular. The ryokan in general looks a bit worn and tired but the amenities in general are fair and we slept comfortably that night. Other than the dinner misunderstanding the staff were generally very polite and nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. Very attentive staff! Extremely clean.
2 out of 5
by Florence from Hong Kong

Kyoto holidays

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Glad to have experienced a ryokan but hotel not in good condition. Many stains on carpet and cleanliness very limited.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Outrageously over priced.

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Staff were kind enough. However, charging close to $300 per night with 1970's facilities was a big disappointment. Dinner was also outrageoulsy priced (cheapest course meal for 2people were ¥16000)and seemed prepared several hours before. Funitures were so old and quite dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from China

read ALL reviews before booking

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Japanese style breakfasts were delicious
Cons: Room #15 needs a complete remodel. Bathroom was appalling
Location: Not much in the way of things to do in the area but public transportation was a short walk.
I have done a lot of international travel these past two years and can be pretty forgiving, but this ryokan was truly awful. The room, I think it was #15, had a strong musty smell, was dark, and did not feel clean. It looked out over a garden, which was pleasant enough, but the road beyond it was very loud and disrupted our sleep. Still, we slept all night with the sliding doors open because of the musty smell. The bathroom was very sub par, with a sunken tub that looked like it needed to be replaced and a totally inadequate sink area that looked decrepit: dirty with cracks and peeling walls. We had to keep the door to the shower room closed and burn incense to make the room bearable (we bought our own, and matches, as they were somewhat stingy with it). My husband used the public onsen and found it to be very pleasant. I did not use it. We slept on futons, which I found comfortable and my husband did not. Breakfast was extra. We ate it twice, both times choosing the Japanese style, and it was very good. I hardly saw staff after the morning and when I did, they did not go out of their way to make us feel welcome. I felt like an interloper. Had we not had so much at stake, I would have walked away, but all other hotels in the area were full. A very expensive and disappointing stay. Read ALL reviews carefully and book at your own risk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

FAR TOO EXPENSIVE

Posted Oct 7, 2015
I spent one night at this ryokan beginning of October 2015. I have been in the past in ryokan in Japan. It’s good to feel the deep Japanese heritage and culture, out of our world. This said, this experience was a little bit strange. First, arriving at the reception, I had not exactly the feeling to be welcome: as it happens sometime in Japan, people not talking English are maybe ashamed and try to avoid contact. But in this case it was really “short”. An old lady showed me my room and explained to me the usual rules and the way things work. Or should work. Now, I understand to be in a old house. i have been in many old houses, usually refreshed and clean. My room was not. Not at all. Instead of expressing a feeling, I just made some pictures. First time I do it in my long travel experience. I made it as the cost for this room was more than 400 euros for the night. This is incredibly high for such a disaster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Hotel has a lovely pond and onsen. Near to several temples and train station. Great place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Masafumi OKUDA, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo the other day. We make your review and picture help of the improvement in the future. It is all about the guests! "KAIZEN"continuous improvement!! We are waiting for your next stay. Thank you. Best regards, Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo.