Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hnl

Established hotel in Kyoto

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Overall very classic hotel and convenient but needs overall renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Stayed for 2 nights last week... very convenient to a train station (access through the basement). Don't recommend their onsite restaurants... standard fare at x2 the price in the 'mall' area across the street. You will find a lot better there for much cheaper. Hotel staff were great, super friendly until checkout where they weren't. Thought that was odd. Room was clean, comfortable, good amenities. AC was crappy, as most are in Japan, can't actually really cool things down. Typical issue there tho.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane, australia

first time traveller to Japan.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The room was very big, which was a surprise to me, well layed out, staff were amazing.
Cons: I couldn't fault the hotel....more than happy with our stay. Thank you.
Location: river walk only minutes away, lovely stroll to gion area. Felt very safe.
After a lot of research we decided to choose this hotel, and my expectations were way better than I could have imagined. The hotel was amazing, the staff were beyond anything I could have hoped for. They were so respectful, courteous and so polite. Nothing was to much trouble. They had free transport every half hour to take us to koyoto station which was of great help as we were first time travellers to Japan. We had an upgrade and our room was very big and comfortable with a beautiful view.. I could not fault the hotel, would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Very comfortable stay with excellent service, clean room, and good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from livermore,ca

Great room. large and comfortable

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Large and clean
Cons: Nothing
Location: Food. Entertainment. Walking around.
Great time in Kyoto. Wonderful temples and shrines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice well priced Hotel in central Kyoto

Posted Mar 4, 2017
I stayed at the Hotel Okura for 2 nights. The mattress was a bit firm for me but I think this is the norm in Japan. The lap pool is GREAT but be aware they charge 2200 yen per use on top of hotel costs. The hotel is centrally located and across the street from a subway station. Nice restaurants are less than 2 blocks away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Excellent service, convenient location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Hotel is a bit old but it is very clean and comfortable. The service of the hotel staff is excellent, the concierge made some reservations for us at some top rated Kyoto restaurants. The hotel is close to the subway and Keihan railway, and it is very convenient. It also offers a shuttle to go to Kyoto station. Highly recommend this hotel to other travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel for the price well located

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Close to the metro line and well situated centrally close to various amenities. Staff was very friendly and useful. Breakfast was included which is always a nice perk.
3 out of 5
by Felicia

Excellent location + staff, but needs an upgrade

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: The location can't be beat. You're near subway lines, and you're at the heart of downtown Kyoto. There are excellent dining options in walking distance and Kyoto Station is 10-min by car. The Chippendale Bar is classic, harkening back to old New York, and the staff are exceptionally courteous and helpful. Cons: The room was TINY. I travel internationally frequently, I'm a petite woman, but I was cramped in my room. Although the rooms were quite clean, they were a bit shabby. Although the concierge was friendly, I didn't find them helpful for booking tours outside the two standard ones they offered. Check Viator instead for great tours within Kyoto and neighboring Nara and Osaka. This disappointed me greatly. Also, the food was not up to par considering the price. I spent nearly $50 for a fillet steak, which was not near a fillet. Overall, if you're looking for a clean, safe and great location, this is your best bet for $100/night. Otherwise, I'd look at other hotels in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels