Ratings based on 856 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Kyoto

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Enjoyed the location of this hotel. Close to subway/trains. Easy walking to shopping and restaurants. Hotel is a bit dated, and staff was mixed. Some very helpful, others not so much. Rooms were large and comfortable. No vending machines or ice on hotel floors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hk

Close to the town

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The hotel is a bit old but it close to the shopping area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Grand hotel centrally located. A bit dated in the decor but the room was clean and very comfortable. They make an effort to please the guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, Canada

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Excellent hotel experience. Very clean. Direct access to subway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Great hotel conveniently located close to the main dining area. Within a 20 minute nice walk to the Gion district.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Great location, very helpful concierge (both before and during our stay). Very large room by Japan standards.
Cons: We had a room with two "twin" beds, which I wish they could have pushed together.
Good location, we were able to walk to many sights, and the subway was right in the basement of the hotel. The concierge was extremely helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hnl

Established hotel in Kyoto

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Overall very classic hotel and convenient but needs overall renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Stayed for 2 nights last week... very convenient to a train station (access through the basement). Don't recommend their onsite restaurants... standard fare at x2 the price in the 'mall' area across the street. You will find a lot better there for much cheaper. Hotel staff were great, super friendly until checkout where they weren't. Thought that was odd. Room was clean, comfortable, good amenities. AC was crappy, as most are in Japan, can't actually really cool things down. Typical issue there tho.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in convenient location. Be warned!!! Fitness center has a very pricey per use cost!!! Hotels.com should mention this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane, australia

first time traveller to Japan.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The room was very big, which was a surprise to me, well layed out, staff were amazing.
Cons: I couldn't fault the hotel....more than happy with our stay. Thank you.
Location: river walk only minutes away, lovely stroll to gion area. Felt very safe.
After a lot of research we decided to choose this hotel, and my expectations were way better than I could have imagined. The hotel was amazing, the staff were beyond anything I could have hoped for. They were so respectful, courteous and so polite. Nothing was to much trouble. They had free transport every half hour to take us to koyoto station which was of great help as we were first time travellers to Japan. We had an upgrade and our room was very big and comfortable with a beautiful view.. I could not fault the hotel, would definitely stay again.