Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and very spacious room

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The service at this hotel is exceptional. I felt every staff member went above and beyond. From the moment we arrived at valet, everyone was so warm and helpful. Concierge was especially wonderful as they helped us rent bikes, book a dinner reservation and help us locate the wallet I lost! Overall, well worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A winner!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Very central, great walking to everywhere.
Excellent location, very friendly staff, nicely appointed rooms. Equivalent to any high-end American hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Absolutely Lovely

Posted Nov 1, 2016
This is an absolutely lovely place, with marvelous service and a perfect location. I would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego Ca.

GREAT ACCESS

Posted Oct 7, 2016
This hotel has a great access to the main shopping area in Kyoto by walk. It also has the direct access to the subway station. Great location, great hotel services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Spent 3 nights here and had a great time. Hotel is located close to many attractions and bus lines. The staff were very attentive and always had umbrellas ready for guests when it was raining. The concierges were very helpful in setting up dinner reservations and baggage delivery. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
I am not very familiar with Japan but a $200/night Hotel in the US doesn't buy you the kind of service I have gotten here. Very impressive place in a excellent location. Highly recommended. Will stay again if I ever get the chance. The Chinese restaurant Toh Lee is UNBELIEVABLE (as in good) for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Excellent staff Clean Rooms Amazing View Breakfast very delicious Highly Recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Beautiful hotel. Lovely big rooms.
Very convenient place to stay as the hotel is connected to the subway. The rooms are good size and the toilets very well planned. Having little clocks everywhere is very good. Wish we were supplied with black tea as we are used to drinking that. We had to move to a different room as we booked our 3 days in two lots. They should have not made us move just for the 20$ difference in price. We liked both rooms the same and didn't think one was better than the other. Miscommunication! Cocerege service was very good - with subway tickets available to buy etc. wish we were given free bottled water daily. On the whole very good hotel to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dont bother with Single Room

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Classic Kyoto Hotel in best area. Had to upgrade to double because Single Rooms are just too small unless your name is Bilbo Baggins. A/C takes a long time to cool down room but otherwise a great stay. Service level should be studied and duplicated around the world. Breakfast at Japanese Restaurant and Japanese/western buffets are excellent. Bar has great selection of scotch. Jogged by Kamo River every day. It's free and like running through a post card.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Not a bad option for the price

Posted Jul 3, 2016
This place feels a bit date . That being said, the room was nice and clean. The location is walking distance to a number of attractions. It's right on the subway and close to a couple of bus lines.